Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Cheez-Its, From Scratch

with 15 comments

homemade Cheez-Its
This weekend is for snacking. And loafing. Because the weather is garbage. It’s all rainy, but not cozy up with a book kind of rainy (I just looked evuuureeewhere for that clip from The Office where Phyllis rattles off all the rainy day cliches but NBC is holding it hostage). Today was an ugly, cloudy, it-looks-like-rain-but-it’s-really-only-going-to-storm-for-about-5-minutes, 9000% humidity, extra frizzy-haired, and the little boys won’t go outside kind of rainy day.

So I have decided to be a complete couchy potato, eat snacks, only cook things in the crock pot, and immerse myself in all the new fall TV that’s happening.

What are you watching? Looking forward to? Missing?

making homemade cheez-its

I am definitely missing Desperate Housewives. Sooooo sad.

But Bones is on again- looove Bones.

Caught up on Modern Family the other day- still hilarious. But I think the amount of time they devote to talking about Modern Family on GMA is a little bit creepy.

turn out the dough

The Office is in its last season- the kids and I still like to watch this one together, but we miss Michael Scott. Parks & Recreation is entering into its 5th season, and Amy Poehler always takes the cake, though I haven’t jumped into that show just yet this fall.

So with all this lazy couch surfing and TV watching going on, I decided to make us some snacks. Cheese crackery snacks to be exact.

cheez-it dough

These cheese crackers taste almost EXACTLY like Cheez-Its, but without all the preservatives, of course. And because they’re orange I felt like the color was sort of appropriate for fall when all things pumpkin take center stage (Note: there is not any pumpkin in these crackers).

Speaking of pumpkin… I decided to give the Dunkin Donuts Iced Pumpkin Latte a whirl today. Except that I think the girl that works at our Dunkin Donuts must HATE coffee. Because in the three times I’ve visited the only location near us (which by the way is actually just a sad little drive-thru window stuck in the back of a gas station) and an ordered iced coffee, what I’ve actually been handed is a giant cup of sugar and milk poured over ice. The exception today was that my sugared milk was pumpkin flavored. AND I actually asked her to go easy on the sugar because my teeth still hurt from the last time I attempted a DD iced coffee (at least 3 months ago). Sorry, Dunkin Donuts. That was your last chance.

making homemade cheez-its from scratch

These cheese crackers are nothing like the DD sugar milk garbage. They WILL NOT dissappoint.

baking cheez-it crackers

baked cheese crackers

What are you watching this fall? What’s your TV snack of choice? Does your Dunkin Donuts suck as much as mine does?

Homemade Cheez-Its (from THIS recipe at Creative Noshing)

4 ounces sharp cheddar cheese

4 ounces grated parmesan

1 cup all purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon ground mustard ( I actually used a little spicy mustard from the fridge… worked just fine)

2 tablespoons hot sauce (I went with Texas Pete) OR 2 tablespoons water (if you don’t want spice)

Pre-heat the oven to 375. You can prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper, but i found it unnecessary; didn’t even grease the cookie sheet.

Put all the ingredients in your food processor and pulse until coarse crumbs have formed. Add the hot sauce (or water) in a little at a time until dough forms.

Lightly flour a clean work surface and turn the dough out. Divide it in half (makes it a bit easier to work with) and roll the dough out. I left mine sort of thick (see photos) because I like it when homemade stuff looks sort of rustic. Use a pizza cutter or a sharp knife to cut the dough into squares, and then poke that signature “Cheez-It” hole in the center using a toothpick or skewer. Repeat the process with the second half of the dough. Line your crackers up on your prepared baking sheet; they won’t expand like cookies so there’s no need to leave gaps in between.

Bake for 10-12 minutes; they’ll be just a tad bit golden.

Eat ‘em warm or let them cool.

Enjoy!

cheese crackers from scratch

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

September 29, 2012 at 10:33 pm

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just saw these on Pinterest and I was like, ‘damn those look good’ who doesn’t love cheez-its anyways lol YUM! Anyways YES all DD’s are the same! When I used to drink iced coffee it was like coffee flavored cream haha Of course I loved it though but honestly there was probably only like 1/4 cup coffee to 1 cup cream, blueberry (my favorite) flavoring and sugar…over ice of course! It’s like crack! Your best bet is to get a plain iced coffee and everything on the side so you have to add it yourself. Ok so I don’t currently watch any of your shows but I’m sure they’re fabulous!! I’m looking forward to Homeland and Dexter starting tomorrow and also I’m currently becoming obsessed with Community (I’m starting from season 1 however) and I love The Real Housewives of New Jersey…but that just ended. The only other thing I’m currently watching is Long Island Medium, love that show. All my other reality shows ended haha P.S. I hate rained in crappy days and frizzy hair too!!! haha

    hopefuladdict

    September 29, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    • Annnnd you re-pinned them, right? :)
      There is another Dunkin Donuts like 30 minutes from here and their coffee is not like milky sugar crack. It’s ACTUALLY coffee. The problem is that if I’m getting on the interstate to drive away from Nowheresville then I’m going to STARBUCKS. No doubt about that one. I’ve been wanting to check out Homeland; I’ve never seen it. And I used to LOVE Dexter, but we don’t pay for TV service so I got behind a couple years back. I watch stuff on a mish mash combo of Netflix, Hulu Plus and Project Free TV, which explains why I was never able to get into any of The Housewives’ series (I got no way to watch!!), but my sister LOVES them. I haven’t watched Long Island Medium yet, but the commercials have me intrigued!
      My hair is so freaking out of control right now. OMG, girl, you just don’t know. I wish I were trendy enough to pull off a beanie or something… I think it would help lol.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      September 30, 2012 at 1:24 pm

      • I have basic cable…I watch a ton of stuff online…there’s a bunch of sites you can watch all those shows for free without downloading or an account, you just stream it (literally just hit play) it’s the greatest thing ever!! That’s how I watched all of the Dexter seasons last year and Homeland. Of everything I suggested though, Homeland was the greatest you should definitely find a website and watch that!!!! I can’t pull off hats either haha

        hopefuladdict

        October 1, 2012 at 12:12 am

  2. Can’t wait to try this…!

    Lauren Olivia & Co.

    September 30, 2012 at 12:17 am

  3. These look like a crazy addictive snack :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    September 30, 2012 at 5:11 am

  4. A little more butter and flour and you have cheese straws! I am all about the NCISs and the CSIs. And Person of Interest…it’s the extremist version of the Big Brother conspiracy and I dig it. I used to be big on Private Practice but after everyone married or had sex with everyone else in the cast I quit it. I prefer the shows that are not soap operas – I can watch an episode and not be lost.

    eatwilmington

    September 30, 2012 at 6:53 am

    • All the Big Brother stuff makes me suuuuper paranoid. It kind of freaks me out that people are so sneaky and mean… my brain just DOES NOT work that way. I love crime shows… I guess that’s why I love Bones so much. Lots of days I put on all that true crime stuff that comes on Discovery and listen to it while I clean, but if it’s on too much, that freaks me out a little bit, too! Private Practice is okay. I’m with you- the first couple of seasons were really good but I never bought the Kate Walsh + Taye Diggs romance nonsense. Noooo chemistry.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      September 30, 2012 at 1:29 pm

  5. I remember Cheese-Its! My mom used to buy them by the Costco box and we’d just plow straight through…so delicious. I am impressed Heather…these look identical!

    These days I’ve been watching Gallery Girls. Not sure why I am obsessed with this show, maybe because of the NYC scene? It’s almost over though so I’ll have to find something else soon!

    Ameena

    September 30, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    • I mailed these cheese crackers with some roasted tomato basil soup to my sister, and I had to be quick about sealing the box up because they were soooo good and I have no willpower. My dad used to bring home Cheez-Its as a snack sometimes. I always loved them as a kid. What is Gallery Girls? It sounds fun, like in my head I am picturing a Real Housewives thing with art gallery society types and then the occasional accidentally successful and completely off-the-chain artist (like the ones I went to art school with that I know are currently wandering the streets of NYC all talented and crazy) to jump in. If that’s not a show it freaking should be!!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      September 30, 2012 at 6:14 pm

  6. Perfect snack!

    sugaredpecan

    September 30, 2012 at 7:17 pm

  7. With a hole in the middle? Authentic! These were my favorite crackers. So addictive, but I haven’t had them in years! Love the Office and you are right, just not quite the same with Michael Scott!

    The Foodie Affair

    October 2, 2012 at 1:14 am

  8. Oh. My. God. I am Cheez-Its biggest fan and this recipe literally made me yelp with joy at being able to make my own. THANK YOU.

    Melissa (Just Enough Sugar)

    November 10, 2012 at 8:22 pm


I Really Like Comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

