Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Strawberry Muffins

with 13 comments

chopped strawberries for muffins

I do realize that it isn’t strawberry season anymore. So let me explain.

Evan LOVES strawberries. And when I spied them on sale at the end of the season I got just a little overzealous with my purchase. He happily raided the strawberry container in the refrigerator for about 4 days, and then some of the berries lost their luster. Bruises appeared here and there and my little guy lost all interest.

I felt sort of guilty about buying too much because I reeeeeeally hate waste.

And so… muffins.

fresh or frozen strawberries

But before I break down the superb nature of these crazy awesome complex carbohydrates… a few changes!

SugarDishMe.com is moving! Okay but not really. It will still be sugardishme.com. I’m just moving my web hosting around (I posted a little note on Facebook last week, so those of you that follow there already had a heads up) which is basically like one gigantic brain-melting headache. The new site is built and I honestly thought everything would be done about a week ago but it takes 7-10 days for the domain to move and then another few days for the name servers to propagate.

Hey! Look at that! That sounds like I know what I’m talking about! (I don’t.)

What I DO know is that I haven’t posted here thinking that I would just publish this post there, except the recipes are piling up and I haven’t talked to you all since SATURDAY. And I missed you.

Oh! Before I forget…Trailer Trashtastic is still alive and well and I actually found time to update it last week, so there’s that. Especially if you’re interested in mobile home living/decorating/solutions, or maybe you’d just like to laugh at my wallpaper? Anyway… I’ve got a few cool projects set to go up in the next week or so.

leftover fruit muffins

Okay, so strawberry muffins. This is what happens when I buy too much fruit. Or when I buy fruit that just totally disappoints me (yeah. I’m talking about you, GRAPEFRUIT.) . Blackberries I think would be pretty amazing here. Chopped apples would, too. If you were clever enough to freeze your summer bounty (or if you are in the habit of stocking up on frozen berries, you know, just in case) then use some of it here! Seriously.

whole wheat strawberry muffins
These babies were my breakfast for three days straight. And my snack. And Evan’s snack.

It got down to paper, rock, scissors for the last muffin. I was paper. PAPER COVERS ROCK!!!

Buuuut I shared. Because Evan is really cute. And I thought that hoarding all the muffins from my nine year old might set a bad example.

strawberry muffins

Whole Wheat Strawberry Muffins

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, at room temperature

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

4 eggs

zest of 1 lemon

1 cup buttermilk (I used reduced fat)

1 1/2 cups chopped fresh or frozen strawberries

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Pre-heat the oven to 350. Line a muffin pan with paper liners or grease the pan.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until its light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition until just combined. Mix in the lemon zest and buttermilk. Using a rubber spatula, stir in the chopped strawberries and coat them with the eggy buttermilk mixture.

In another bowl whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Gradually stir the dry ingredients into the wet and divide the batter between the prepared muffin cups, filling them about 3/4 full (I got 18 muffins out of this recipe). Bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden brown on top and a pick inserted into the center of the muffin crown comes out clean.

wholesome morning muffins

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

October 3, 2012 at 7:24 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The best muffins ever my friend – CRAVINGS!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    October 3, 2012 at 11:05 pm

  2. I have never had a strawberry muffin before…really, these look fantastic!

    And how on earth did you figure out the self-hosting thing? I tried that for about half a minute but it turned out to be a disaster so I came back to WordPress. You are WAY smarter than me. :)

    Ameena

    November 4, 2012 at 9:10 am

    • Hey, Ameena! I hope you get this because in reference to self-hosting, this post happened right in the middle of the switch. It’s in both places. Figuring out the process was totally brain melting. But once I GOT it, it really works JUST LIKE WordPress.com except you can do sooooo many more things. I just kept coming across blogs that are totally self-hosted, but written by people that don’t know the difference between “too” and “to” (grrrrrr…. bad grammar of the 2nd grade variety is a major pet peeve) and I thought- if they can do it I CAN TOO (proper spelling and everything). I’m going to add a tab here soon that details all of it for computer dummies like me. Make your techie husband help you!! Trade him muffins for web design.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      November 4, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  3. I’m having a serious case of de ja vu lol Did your page revert page to your old page or something??? Honestly I thought my computer was acting ghetto or something I’m like I’ve seen this before haha Didn’t you already change your website??? Girl I may be losing my mind but I am CON-FUSSSSSEEEEDDDD lol

    hopefuladdict

    November 6, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    • There is a jetpack plugin that lets wordpress.org mimic and use some of the functions from wordpress.com. Comments and feeds and things like that. I think something may have gone awry on the backend. I actually have no idea. I have traffic in both places lol. I’m confused, too.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      November 7, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      • haha Yesterday I clicked on your name on my comment section which led me to strawberry land…maybe you just need to change the external link so it links to the new page instead

        hopefuladdict

        November 7, 2012 at 9:44 pm

  4. BTW I LOVEEEEE your sprinkles cover photo on Facebook, that is AWESOME!!!!

    hopefuladdict

    November 6, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    • Thank you!! I need more traffic on my facebook page. I think I need a publicist or something. I gotta earn a little $$$ gah.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      November 7, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      • Girl you just need some marketing!!! I can help you though, that was my major, you just tell me what you need!!! We can pimp out your page!!! Yay!!!

        hopefuladdict

        November 7, 2012 at 9:42 pm

      • Market away!! No, seriously TELL ME WHAT TO DO!! I would welcome instruction. I just told Chad earlier that my blog is basically like my life: I’m really great at establishing a couple of super solid and real relationships (you, my girl, are at the top of that blog friend list!!!!) but I’ve never attracted the masses. Earning a few dollars this way is basically a popularity contest. I am obviously not proficient at popularity lol. But the readers I DO have are a loyal interactive engaging lot!! I would like more of that :)

        Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

        November 7, 2012 at 10:06 pm

      • Ok let me think about it and I’ll get back to you!! I need to really look over your pages!!! This is going to be fun!! I love marketing!!! And you’re my favorite on here!!! One day we’ll be friends off the page too!!!

        hopefuladdict

        November 8, 2012 at 10:46 pm

      • I need a like button for this. :)

        Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

        November 8, 2012 at 10:48 pm

      • haha I want a like button on life!!

        hopefuladdict

        November 10, 2012 at 3:31 am


I Really Like Comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

