Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Chocolate Chip Band-Aid

leave a comment »

My boss drove his tractor off a cliff- yes that really happened-and I am out of a job (more on that another day perhaps). It has been years since I actually had to look for work, and since my two boys were tiny I’ve made a career out of doing whatever I need to just to survive. I saw my sister Stephanie a couple weeks ago (I have two sisters and they are incredible and beautiful and amazing, and i don’t just say that because they’re MY sisters) and she is full of encouragement and good ideas.

Let me explain that Stephanie was home from school on brief reprieve before she flew over the Atlantic to take on the first semester of her senior year in France. A French major and totally brilliant everything-ista, my little sister is going to immerse herself in a foreign land AND go to school at the same time, and for Stephanie, anything is possible. Seriously. So by extension she thinks that anything is possible for me. We had this great little ego-boosting chat whereupon she suggested I get down to business and start using my long stagnant brain to earn a living. Apparrently my skills in bullshit are proficient because I have somehow managed to give the impression that I am a completely capable, yet out of practice writer, and all I need to do is start looking.

But I think I will just make chocolate chip cookies. Really yummy chocolate chip cookies. Because THAT I can do. Every mommy/wife/girlfriend/daughter/sister/best friend should be able to make a really awesome chocolate chip cookie because they fix almost everything.

The number one trick for me when making chocolate chip cookies is getting the butter right. It can’t be too cold or it won’t mix, but if it gets too far past room temperature then you run the risk of having those crispy wafer-like cookies that spread out on the cookie sheet and are NOT soft happy cookies.  
This can also happen if you over-mix the butter and sugar. And, let’s face it- if your cookies aren’t happy, then what’s the point? It is really hard to over-mix if you go old school and mix by hand (I know that is time consuming and sort of annoying, but it’s true). 
Resize_P09-15-11_09-461000054

 

My number two trick is to keep my boyfriend from eating all the cookie dough before I bake the cookies. It’s usually best to bake when he’s at work.

Mission accomplished. Chocolate chip cookie band-aids. I feel better now. I even made one giant cookie for my son’s science class.

So now science is happy, too.

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) of butter at room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 (my oven runs a little hot- yours may need to be set as high as 375). In a medium bowl mix together dry ingredients. In a large bowl cream together butter, sugars and vanilla. Add eggs one at a time until just blended~ DON’T OVERMIX!!! Gradually add flour mixture and then add chocolate chips. Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 8-10 minutes (I usually take mine out around 8 minutes so the middle is sorta melty). Obviously giant cookies take a little longer.

 

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

September 15, 2011 at 8:21 pm

I Really Like Comments.

