Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

What Goes with Frog’s Legs?

with 2 comments

For those of you that don’t know, I live in rural North Carolina. I am not from here, but my sweetheart, Chad, is and his whole family lives here. I remember when I met his grandparents for the first time, and his grandma told me to, “Come on in and find ya a seat… just make yerself at home, we’re just simple country folks.” She’s really cute. And she had a cookout this weekend.

I am not a fan of showing up anywhere empty-handed, and I really had no idea what Chad’s family might need me to bring. So I asked him and he said, “Just make somethin hunny. It don’t matter.” Mmmmm… I love to hear him talk, but that wasn’t so helpful. Then I asked Chad’s grandma what they might need? “Well just whatever you wanna bring will be fine, ” she told me.

And I still had no clue.

I asked her what they would be making, and maybe that would guide me a little bit? “Well, we’re gon fry some catfish, and frog legs, and grill some chicken.” I must have been making a face because she started laughing and said, “You ever had any frog legs?”

Nope. And now I really didn’t know what to bring. Everything goes with chicken, but what in the world goes with catfish and frog legs? This is what I came up with:

I soaked some canned crabmeat in a little lemon juice.

And I added some Old Bay seasoning and garlic powder.

Cream cheese, sour cream, and mayonnaise. Oh, and some onions.

Cheddar cheese. Because cheese makes everything better.

 

I baked it and ended up with crab dip! (This picture doesn’t do it justice. I promise it was really good. We ate it while it was still warm and after it had cooled completely)

So we had a good time at the cookout with Chad’s family. Everything went really well, and his aunt made a cake that I need to steal the recipe for because it was sooooo good. I do have to tell you that I did not eat any frog legs. Sorry people. I have a thing for amphibians.

Crabbity Crab Dip

Ingredients

Two 6 ounce cans of crab meat, drained and flaked

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

1/2 a medium onion, finely chopped

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1/2 cup sour cream

salt and pepper to taste

3/4- 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (or colby jack or pepper jack will work too)

To Make

Preheat the oven to 350. Put your drained and flaked crab meat in a medium-sized bowl and add the lemon juice and old bay seasoning. let that soak for a little bit while you dice onions etc. It takes the “fishy” taste out of the crab. Lightly grease a small baking dish (I like to use butter cause it really makes everything taste better). Add all your remaining ingredients to the bowl and stir until they are well-combined. Turn into the prepared baking dish and bake for about 30 minutes (I waited until the sides were bubbly). Serve with crackers or bread.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

September 27, 2011 at 10:11 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I was trying desperately to come up with SOMETHING to bring to the cookout with my boyfriend’s family over the weekend, I remembered that these cookies have a tendency […]

  2. […] I was trying desperately to come up with SOMETHING to bring to the cookout with my boyfriend’s family over the weekend, I remembered that these cookies have a tendency […]


I Really Like Comments.

