Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Pumpkin + Pecan = Awesome Pancakes

with one comment

This week is devoted to the most fun of all the holidays: Halloween. I have spent the last few days adding pumpkin, pecans, and apples to everything I cook- breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I might get sick of it eventually, but probably I won’t. Just like my kids never get sick of Halloween candy.

I also never get sick of being scared silly in one of the best Halloween traditions ever: the haunted house. This year it was a real (so they claim) haunted farm in the back woods of South Carolina. When I say “back woods”, I mean we had a page completely filled with directions, no street lights for miles, and my sister Lindsey was worried 15 minutes before we found it back woods.

I can’t remember the last time I screamed so genuinely- this haunted farm was great. I also learned a few things: 1. Joey, my brother in law, is freaked out by strobe lights. 2. My sister is totally claustrophobic 3. I am a bigger chicken than I thought 4. I have almost completely confirmed my suspicions that my boyfriend is a werewolf (more details on that later this week perhaps).

Haunted farms/houses/trails/hayrides are completely awesome. So are Pumpkin Pecan Pancakes.

In a large bowl I put some reduced fat Bisquick baking mix, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and sugar.

In a smaller bowl I put eggs, milk, oil, and some canned pumpkin and stirred with a wisk until it was all nice and orangey colored.

Then I mixed my wet ingredients in with the dry…

Once that was all mixed up nicely, I added chopped pecans.

Using my trusty pancake griddle, I cooked up some super yummy I’m-recovering-from-a-haunted-farm-and-am-a-total-Halloween-junkie breakfast.

Pumpkin Pecan Pancakes

Ingredients

2 1/3 cup baking mix (such as Bisquick)

2 1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ginger

2 eggs

1 1/4 cups milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 cup chopped pecans

To Make

In a large bowl wisk together baking mix, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. In a smaller bowl wisk together the eggs, milk, oil, and canned pumpkin. Heat up a pancake griddle or non-stick skillet over medium high heat. Then mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. When those are completely combined, stir in the pecans. Watch these when you cook them– the pumpkin will burn if you’re not careful.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

October 24, 2011 at 8:46 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] The little guys are cereal eaters, which suits me just fine, but sometimes I surprise them with pretty pancakes or scrambled eggs. Andrew wakes the little one, Evan, up. Evan is a little more emotional in the […]


I Really Like Comments.

