Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Forgotten Homework and Brownies

with 5 comments

Forgetting homework is a mystery to me. I don’t ever remember forgetting my homework as a kid… not unless it was on purpose anyway. I don’t know if it is a boy thing, or an 8 year old thing, or a little kid thing… I think maybe I should ask my mom. My brothers both habitually forgot their homework. And their pencils. And their science books.

Or maybe I should ask my sister who wrangles a classroom full of 8 and 9 year olds everyday. Or maybe I won’t ask anyone at all because no matter the reason, the forgotten homework is driving me crazy!

We have a total meltdown once a week because my little guy left his homework at home, or left his homework at school, or left his homework somewhere crazy. First it was the folder and the science book left on the living room floor. How do you walk around with a backpack on and not notice that you’re missing the only book that’s supposed to be in it?

Then it was leaving for school without the backpack at all. Are you kidding me?

Then we left the math book at school (when I say “we”, I actually mean Evan). What happens when you leave your math book at school, boys and girls? Well I’ll tell you that what can’t happen is math homework.

Most recently the whole homework folder got left behind when Evan packed up to come home for the day. He got off the bus all ready to get down to business, opened his backpack, and then it went down like this:

Evan (in a really squeaky voice): “Oh man! I forgot my freakin FOLDER!!!!! Gosh I can’t believe I did that!” Then he stuffed down a big ‘ol sob and stormed into his room.

Me (in a normal voice, except this is like the 34th time this has happened so I’m a little annoyed, but Evan was freaking out so I was trying not to laugh): “You forgot your homework? Again? Evan this is getting out of hand nag, nag, nag, blah, blah, blah…”

Evan (totally hysterical): “Well I just wanted to go outside and play and now I can’t because I can’t do my homework!!! ”

***Enter Andrew, also just home from school***

Andrew:”Hey, what’s goin on?”

Me: “Evan forgot his folder.”

Evan: “Waaaahhhhhhhhh!!!!”

Me:”Evan if you hadn’t cried just exactly like that when I asked you to run the vacuum 2 days ago I might feel bad for you right now.”

Andrew: totally cracks up laughing

Evan:”SHUT UP ANDREW!!!! GAH!!!!”

Andrew: more laughing at the hysterics

Well anyway he got over it. After a few minutes he started laughing at just how ridiculous he was being. I made him write “I will not forget my homework” 150 times. Mean mommy? Maybe. But I also made brownies, so I’m not that mean.

Melt butter and sugar in a medium saucepan (stirring frequently)and stir in a little water. Remove from heat once the butter has melted and stir in some semi-sweet chocolate chips.

Then add in eggs and vanilla and keep stirring.

Stir in flour, baking soda and salt. Mixture will be thick and rich.

Pour brownie batter into a buttered 8X8 baking dish.

Bake at 325 for about 30-35 minutes. Don’t let them overcook (the key to awesome brownies), but these are gooey brownies anyway, so you want to make sure the middle is done.

Brownies from scratch: piece of cake. Getting a 3rd grade boy to remember his homework: so far still a mystery. I’ll let you know if the sentences worked, but probably I will just save them forever because they are cute and he will forget again next week.

November 2012 Update: Thanks so much for all thr traffic and responses that have generated from this page!! Since this post was published, Sugar Dish Me has moved. I’m still running on plenty of sugar and caffeine, publishing about 5 new recipes each week. You can follow along at http://www.sugardishme.com/ and subscription buttons can be found at the right-hand side of that page. Thanks so much for visiting Sugar Dish Me!! Look forward to hearing from you! ~Heather

Brrrrownies.

Ingredients

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons water

1 1/2 cups semi sweet or dark chocolate chips

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

2/3 cup all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

To Make

Preheat the oven to 325 and grease an 8X8 baking dish. In a small bowl combine flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In a medium saucepan over medium heat melt butter, and stir in the sugar and water until the sugar is dissolved, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in the chocolate chips until melted. Wisk in the eggs and vanilla and once the mixture is smooth, gradually add in the flour mixture. Turn the brownie mixture into prepared baking dish and bake for 30-35 minutes. Brownies will be puffed up when you take them out of the oven, but will fall slightly while cooling. Let the brownies cool completely before cutting.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

November 4, 2011 at 11:13 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] York Peppermint Brownies. Oh yes. I did that. Make brownies. My favorite brownie recipe is here: https://sugardishme.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/forgotten-homework-and-brownies-2/ Pour half of your brownie mix into the prepared pan and then line up bite sized York Peppermint […]

  2. […] two growing cuties– but mostly I write them love notes with food. Sometimes it’s warm brownies after school. Or pancakes on a Sunday morning. More often than not though, I pen the best love […]

  3. […] solves little boys forgetting their homework problems. It puts a layer of caramelly candy bar and fresh whipped creamed over wounded pride when you […]

  4. […] suppose I could have made my favorite brownies from scratch, but chocolate chips are more expensive than brownie mix. What’s that all […]

  5. […] from here, here, here, and […]


I Really Like Comments.

