Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Fictional Pasta Sauce

leave a comment »

There is something you should know about me: I read all the time. I LOVE TO READ. I read everything I can get my hands on- articles, magazines, newspapers, the back of the cereal box… you get the point. But mostly I love fiction. I have a few favorite authors, a few off-beat genres that I really dig, and then there’s Nicholas Sparks.

Yes, yes, we have all seen The Notebook. I know Miley Cyrus is in The Last Song because Netflix recommends that movie in my que at least twice a week (also, Chad totally watched it with me). But until really recently, like just this summer recently, did I discover what all the fuss is about.

My sweetheart bought me a nook color (super fantastic Barnes and Nobles e-reader) for my birthday and I was looking for affordable books to download. I ended up with The Choice by Nicholas Sparks. I finished it in a day. I could not stop reading it.

I moved on to other authors for awhile, mostly because their novels were free… I can’t go around spending $7 or $8 a day on books or we might have to live in the car. And then True Believer popped up as a suggested read… I bought it. I finished it in a day. I could not stop reading it.

Just to add icing to my I-love-this-book cupcake, there is a recipe tucked right in the middle of the story! So I made it.

I started with two cans of San Marzano tomatoes. Who knew canned tomatoes could taste so good? I certainly didn’t. I found this brand at Wal-Mart.

Mmmmmm. Pretty tomatoes. I put these in a pot over medium heat and added a whole stick of butter (I never said it was a healthy recipe). I stirred the tomatoes around until the butter melted.

And then I peeled two onions, cut them in half, and put them in the pot (I swear I followed the recipe exactly- no slicing or dicing- just put them in the pot).

Bring the tomatoes, butter and onions to a boil, then reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer for and hour and a half.

This sauce was easy and delicious. We finished all of it in a day. We could not stop eating it.

Nicholas Sparks’ Tomato Sauce

Ingredients

2 cans of San Marzano tomatoes

1 stick of butter

2 medium onions, peeled and cut in half

To Make

Pour both cans of tomatoes and the stick of butter in a large pot over medium heat, stirring occasionally until the butter melts. Add the onion halves (don’t pull them apart, just throw them in) and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer for an hour and a half. Serve over your favorite pasta with fresh grated parmesan cheese.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

November 9, 2011 at 9:10 am

I Really Like Comments.

