Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Procrastination Tastes Good

with 2 comments

I am the MASTER of procrastination. Just ask my mom— she will totally confirm that. My brother Michael and I have made an art form out of putting things off until the very last second and still doing a dang fine job. I think my sister Stephanie mastered this skill in college. We have passed this slightly maddening (to our mother anyway) habit on to our youngest brother Spencer, but I still think Michael does it with the greatest grace of ease and least amount of stress. He’s not worried.

Mom is though.

Lindsey is the only one that does what she is supposed to as soon as she is supposed to do it ***GOLD STARS FOR MY SISTER!!!!****

One time I saved this really obnoxious school project until the night before it was due. I was aiming high and got a little carried away with the details and then my mom came in from work at like 12 a.m. She helped me keep my eyes open until about 3 in the morning. I was so over-tired that I thought I would cry (this is what I mean when I say my brother is a low-stress procrastinater; he wouldn’t cry! He would just say, “Yeah this is good,” and go on to sleep). Mom got creative with how to get it all done quickly. I got an “A” and some very nice comments from my teacher who apparently didn’t notice the gigantic bags under my eyes.

And I didn’t learn my lesson.

Like these mini gingerbread cheesecakes, for example. I told you two weeks ago to save half of your gingerbread cookie dough to make them. I was all, “Stay tuned…,” and everything. Please know that I had the greatest of intentions. I hope you ignored me and got your gingerbread cookie on.

I did make the mini gingerbread cheesecakes. But I did not post them and I’ll tell you why: It’s because I didn’t get rave reviews. Now don’t get me wrong– they were good. Because my gingerbread cookie dough was super duper (pat myself on the back). But they didn’t taste as good as they sounded. My family was waaaaay more excited about the oatmeal raisin cookies.

The original recipe that I found, and followed for my “cheesecake” filling is here:

Gingerbread Cheesecake Bites

The pictures are pretty. The website is pretty. The cheesecake filling needed some ooomph. So I tweaked it.

Below is the version with gusto, the version of the recipe that will taste even better than it sounds: MINI GINGERBREAD CHEESECAKES. Oh you can say that again!

Family– next time I make you mini gingerbread cheesecakes, your mouth will be so happy that it won’t even remember what oatmeal raisin tastes like. And you will thank me for my procrastinating ways.

Put about 2 teaspoons of gingerbread dough (if you don’t have it, make some using the gingerbread cookie link above!) into each little muffin cup of your *lightly greased* mini muffin pan.

Push your thumb down into each little ball of dough to make a tiny cookie crust out of each piece.

4 ounces of room temperature cream cheese (that’s half the little block if you tossed the packaging without reading the weight… we all have those moments) gets beat all fluffy with an egg and a glop of sour cream. How much is a glop? Today it’s about 1 1/2 teaspoons.

Then dress that all up with two cups of sifted powdered sugar and fluff it with those beaters some more till it’s creamy.

Take your creamy cheesecake-i-ness and spoon it into a resealable plastic bag. Cut the tip off the bag and use it to pipe the filling into each little crust.

And then bake at 350 for about 12 minutes.

Mini Gingerbread Cheesecakes

Ingredients

half a recipe gingerbread cookie dough (or all of it… how many tiny little gingerbread cheesecakes do you want?)

4 ounces cream cheese, softened

1 egg

1 1/2 teaspoons sour cream

2 cups sifted powdered sugar

To Make

Preheat the oven to 350 and lightly spray a mini muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray. Put the gingerbread dough about 2 teaspoons at a time into each little muffin cup and then press your thumb into each one to make a “crust”. Set muffin pan aside while you mix together cream cheese, egg and sour cream. Then mix in the sifted powdered sugar until the cheesecake mixture is smooth. Using a resealable plastic bag pipe the cheesecake filling into each crust. You can fill the crust up all the way (I even over-filled some of mine). Bake, one tray at a time (depending on how many you decided to make) for about 12 minutes. Let them cool completely before serving. They are yummy when chilled, too!

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

December 30, 2011 at 8:33 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Damn it, now you’ve made me hungry!

    The Procrastinator

    December 31, 2011 at 6:58 am

  2. I so remember that night and that project! I still admire it from time to time. Your gingerbread cheesecakes were delicious on Christmas…if they are improved, I can’t even imagine!

    Peggy Campbell

    December 31, 2011 at 8:17 am


I Really Like Comments.

