Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Board Games and Little Boys

with 10 comments

Can I just mention that this is the first New Year’s Day that I didn’t have to be at work at 5:45 a.m. in YEARS?

It’s amazing. I’m just sayin.

Our New Year’s Eve was pretty low key. Chad and I parked ourselves on the living room floor with a bottle of sparkly wine and about 150 board games while various pop stars sounded like they ACTUALLY sound (whoa.) on the t.v. in the background. The little boys like to watch the ball drop in New York City on the Rockin New Year’s Eve Special. Also I caught the local news and learned a few facts:

  • In Raleigh, North Carolina, they drop a giant acorn.
  • In Mobile, Alabama, they drop an enormous Moon Pie.
  • My kids don’t like Moon Pies.
  • In Brasstown, North Carolina, they drop a possum from the roof of a convenience store (okay they don’t drop it; they very slowly and carefully lower it, and then they set it free… but that’s really weird, right?)
  • Last time I checked we don’t live in Brasstown, but I feel certain this practice must have originated in my zip code…

Anyway, back to the board games.

My little guy, Evan, LOVES a board game. He really loves Monopoly. NO ONE ELSE LOVES MONOPOLY. So we negotiate other games to play while I discreetly shove Monopoly under the couch. Evan also really loves to win board games. He is not a gracious loser. Last night we played Phase 10 Twist. In this game each “phase” is like a hand of cards. I accidentally won one too many phases and Evan made the ugly crying face.

Me: “Evan, you realize this is just a game, right? There are no prizes.”

Evan (in the squeaky hysterical I’m totally overreacting right now voice) : “Shut uuuuup!!!!”

Me, Chad, and Andrew: can’t stop laughing

Evan: storms into his room and slams the door

Me, Chad, and Andrew: can’t stop laughing

Me (still giggling): “Evan, are you gonna come out now?”

Evan (through the still closed bedroom door): “Not until you guys stop being mean to me!!!”

Me: “We aren’t being mean to you, we’re just laughing at you.”

Me, Chad, and Andrew: can’t stop laughing still

Evan: “Grrrr. Stop laughing at me!”

Evan’s competitive nature returned him to the living room, more determined than ever to beat Phase 10 Twist. This is serious business.

Then I took a picture of Evan’s mad face.

Not enough light to really appreciate this picture, but I got a lot of, “Stop it, Mommy!!!!” He really hates it when I take mad face pictures. But then he laughs everytime. It’s a sure fire way to get your kid to realize they’re being ridiculous.

Evan recovered from his temporary board game insanity, but did not recover his loss because at 2:15 a.m. I won!!!

Oh right… no prizes. Why was I excited again?

Well, anyhow, Happy New Year! And have a cookie.

In a large bowl you will need some butter, sugar, and brown sugar.

Throw in some eggs and vanilla and beat until smooth. Then add in baking powder and baking soda. I realize this sounds backwards, but the results are delicious!

Stir in the entire bag of Andes Mint Chips- I love all things mint and chocolate- ice cream, Oreos, you name it. Andes Mints in cookies? I’m there.

Sift in some flour, and stir it all together.

Don’t eat ALL the cookie dough before you bake the cookies (I might have bopped Chad’s hand with the wooden spoon once or twice).

I cannot take credit for this recipe. Some genius at Tootsie Roll Industries wrote it. You will find it here:

Andes Creme de Menthe Cookies

They are chewy and chocolatey and minty delicious. Also that link is dangerous… you may need to buy a treadmill after perusing it.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

January 1, 2012 at 1:15 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Heather. I loved hearing about your New Year’s Eve; sounds so fun. I can just see precious little Evan just as you have described him. I’ve seen that ‘mad’ face! Wishing you and your family a very blessed New Year!

    Pam Wolfe

    January 1, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    • Happy New Year to you and yours as well, Pam!!! Thanks for taking a minute outta your day to read this… I appreciate it so much!!

      Heather Tullos

      January 2, 2012 at 8:07 am

  2. Hahaha!!! Poor Evan. You guys are meaaaaaaaaaan. All that laughing at the kid. Geeze you evil ppl! *Hehehehe*

    Simply Tia

    March 20, 2012 at 8:11 am

    • He is the funniest kid ever. Or maybe I just think that cause I’m his mom. But Evan has an incredible ability to meltdown at the drop of a hat (“Andrew give me my lego!!!! Waaaahhh!”) but it only ever lasts for a minute or two and then he laughs at himself cause he realizes he is being ridiculous. He really giggles more than anything (like me!) 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 20, 2012 at 8:19 am

      • I’m like Evan. I’m very emotional and it doesn’t take much to make me cry. Unlike Evan though, I never see how I’m being ridiculous after. My tears are always warranted. Hahahaha. He is soooo cute! Did he say anything about the kids teasing him about his shoes? I hope they didn’t.

        Simply Tia

        March 20, 2012 at 8:21 am

      • No. I don’t think anyone gave him a hard time, but he’s pretty resilient. Evan makes friends everywhere he goes, so he doesn’t usually have much trouble with that sort of stuff (thank GOODNESS! cause I don’t think I could deal with kids being mean to my babies!). And don’t let me fool you hahaha- I am reduced to tears pretty easily lol. Hey- at least we’re honest about it!!

        Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

        March 20, 2012 at 8:33 am

      • Well now you know where he gets it from. Evan and I sound like we share a lot of personality traits. I love him without even “knowing” him.

        Simply Tia

        March 20, 2012 at 8:35 am

  3. […] you’ve been following me here for the last few months, you already know that my littlest boy, Evan, loves board games. In particular he loves Monopoly. No one else loves Monopoly. Most days I can talk myself out of […]

  4. […] to watch Sesame Street with Mommy, though. They will occasionally sit down for a game of Skip-Bo or Phase 10 Twist, but mostly they like to talk at me about things like Star Wars and Minecraft that just go right […]

  5. […] when my kids have a bad day or get on my nerves. Friends that appreciate my neverending sarcasm and sour sort of humor. Friends that encourage and share and say just the most exactly right things. I love you all […]

    Gratitude « Sugar Dish Me

    September 15, 2012 at 5:06 pm


I Really Like Comments.

