Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Ode to Oatmeal

with 9 comments

 I am the guiltiest party when it comes to nurturing my sweet tooth. Dessert is my favorite meal (but breakfast is a close second!!!) and I have an endless supply of ideas about how to reshape cookies, cupcakes, brownies, cheesecakes (ohhhh mouth watering cheesecakes!), and the like. I have a serious affinity for baked goods (Sugar Dish… ahem) and love, love, love to share them.

But I also love oatmeal– no butter or sugar–just old fashioned steel cut oats; sometimes with dried fruit and nuts. I adore fresh vegetables. Broccoli, asparagus, brussels sprouts, carrots, snow peas… sigh… this list could get pretty long. I am so thrilled with a turkey sandwich on whole wheat bread all piled high with cucumbers, lettuce, and sprouts. No mayonnaise. Just grains and turkey and crunchy greens. Can you tell I have lunch on the brain?

Oatmeal is how I convince my sweet tooth that I am eating something sinful, when really I am just indulging in fiber-rich complex carbs… that are actually good for me.

But if you put oatmeal in a cookie, it’s like poetry.

 Whip the butter and sugar together until smooth (Yes, I do realize that butter and sugar detract from the nutritional value of my oatmeal, but if you’re baking cookies you’ve already passed the point of no return. Just go with it.) Beat in eggs and vanilla, and then flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and a little salt.

 Stir in the oats…

 And raisins…

 Spoon the dough onto a cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes at 350. These cookies are soft and chewy, and they disappear. Quickly. And the oats will make you feel a little better about the two sticks of butter (not a lot better, but a little).

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ingredients

2 sticks of butter, softened

1 cup of packed brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3 cups of old fashioned (steel cut) oats– you can use the quick cooking oats, but I like the texture of the old fashioned better

1 cup raisins

1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans ***totally optional, but reeeeally good***

To Make

Preheat the oven to 350. Beat together the softened butter and sugars. Then blend in the vanilla and eggs until smooth. Mix in the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Abandon your hand mixer for a nice wooden spoon and stir in the oats, raisins, and nuts (if using). Spoon about a tablespoon per cookie onto an ungreased baking sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes (they will not look done when you take them out- also the “puff” up in the oven and then settle as they cool). Let them cool on the cookie sheet for 1-2 minutes before cooling completely on a wire rack.

 

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

January 30, 2012 at 10:07 am

Posted in Sugar

Tagged with , , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your Grandma Ruby’s China looks pretty! But oh the cookies look even better! yummy!

    Peggy Campbell

    January 30, 2012 at 10:56 am

    • Grandma Ruby’s dishes do get to come outta the cabinet for pictures… her silver platters soetimes, too ! But any other time I’m so afraid I’ll break something. Or the boys will act like barbarians at the table and then THEY’LL break something. Do you ever wonder how Grandma Ruby raised three boys and doesn’t seem to be missing a single dish?

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      January 30, 2012 at 1:09 pm

  2. OMG, I thought I was the only one convincing myself that oatmeal cookies were “better” for me… As my Mom would say, “We are cut from the same cloth, you and me”…. Looks great, will have to try sometime.

    creativenoshing

    January 30, 2012 at 11:29 am

  3. I just made oatmeal-raisin cookies this morning. Part of my recipe club’s January challenge. It had to be vegan. They were so delicious nonetheless!!!

    Your cookies look delightful. Yum!

    Simply Tia

    January 30, 2012 at 2:26 pm

  4. […] love a tuna melt. They love oatmeal cookies or chewy chocolate chip. They love cozy casseroles made with familiar ingredients that are probably […]

  5. […] route for me, though, because deciding to never eat another Reese’s peanut butter brownie or oatmeal raisin cookie again in my life was like deciding to fail before I ever began. And so, even though bread is […]


I Really Like Comments.

