Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

An Award!

with 16 comments

It’s award season! We’re smack in the middle of Golden Globes, SAG Awards, RAZZIES, and Oscars. Dresses that cost more than my car grace the cover of every magazine, and the nominees are the subject of every talk show. 

I am not an actor (not by any stretch of the farthest imagination). I don’t own any fancy dresses (jeans, t-shirts, and flip flops are my uniform of choice). No one is talking about me on a morning show, tv OR radio (and thank goodness for that!). But I AM sitting here in my sweats, sipping on my third cup of lightly sweetened coffee, writing this little acceptance speech because I (brace yourselves)…

I won an award!

The Liebster Blog Award is a little prize bestowed upon blogs that have less than 200 followers. It’s a prize for my peers, from my peers, which makes it awesome in my book. This spot of recognition was handed to me from Creative Noshing, who is probably my favorite bloggy neighbor. Her recipes are simple enough for anyone to manage, but special enough that you’ll feel like you accomplished some sort of amazing feat. Also she can sympathize with my clumsy nature. Check her out!

The Liebster Award requires that I nominate up to 5 of my favorite blogs that have less than 200 followers and pay this happiness forward. It’s like a chain letter, except better. My picks for the Liebster Award are as follows:

Thank you, thank you, thank you to all those that stop by here to read, to the bloggers that give me enough reading material and kitchen ideas to last two lifetimes, and to my family (that includes you too, Chad 🙂 ) for giving me inspiration a plenty!

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

February 8, 2012 at 9:14 am

Posted in Sugar

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heather,

    Thank you so much. I must say that since we’ve discovered each other’s blogs, we both have been frequent visitors to each other’s corners (on the web). I want you to know that I appreciate your patronage and support. I appreciate your consistent trips to my blog. You are a total sweetheart.

    I love reading about your adventures with you BF and also your boys. There’s never a dull moment with you.

    This award is truly heart warming to me as it really gives me the encouragement to continue down the path I’ve started.

    I’ve checked out the other blogs you’ve awarded, in fact I already follow two of them (Main St Cuisine and The Patterned Plate). They’re all good picks. Thanks so much for mentioning me and I look forward to reading many many more of your blog posts!

    Have a beautiful day.

    Simply Tia

    February 8, 2012 at 10:24 am

    • Tia- Thanks so much for your encouragement and kind words. Your blog is awesome, and I have to say that when I’m feeling lazy like Queen of Slackers & Procrastination the fact that you and a few others I follow that POST ALL THE TIME keeps me motivated. Thanks for the inspiration (and the kick in the competitive pants) 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 8, 2012 at 11:30 am

  2. Congrats to you. It’s always so great to recieve little gifts like these and to know people care enough to go that extra mile. Your blog is great and you deserve it!

    mommywritervkent

    February 8, 2012 at 10:57 am

  3. Whoaaaa!! Didn’t see this coming! I feel giddy and have a grin that’s threatening to stitch my face!!

    I am chuffed to bits and also very humbled. You, a person I have never met, considers something I do, that’s very personal to me as worthy of attention is heartwarming and humbling. Thankyou very very much Heather for your attention and generosity. I have noticed your frequent visits and truly, as you yourself know, this keeps the drive, interest and satisfaction from blogging, flowing. Thank ye, thank ye!!

    Congratulations to you as well, for winning the award! Absolutely well deserved and what a fantastic idea! I have been reading your blog ever since you popped up on mine and enjoy it tremendously (can’t think of supermarket shopping now, without your rules popping in my head….tis a wierd ol’ space!). So, here’s a “good on ya” cry for you too 🙂

    A question of business, cos I am a bit thick that way….am I now, to select another five blogs to bestow the award on ? Or have I got the wrong end of the stick. Highly likely, I get beat up enough by it!

    thePatternedPlate

    February 8, 2012 at 11:49 am

    • Hahaha you got the right end of the stick. No one here is gonna beat you with it. The award was given to me with the understanding that I could pick as many as 5 of my favorite blogs that have less than 200 followers to receive the award as well. I picked you (and these 4 other fantastic bloggers) so now it’s your turn! Post the award on your blog with a link back to me (for giving it to you) and take ALLLL the credit that is most certainly coming your way. You will pick up to 5 of your favorites and pass the happy on. In this way we can recognize each other, draw creativity, motivation, inspiration, and share readers as well. Hopefully some of my readers will find you and yours me. Your blog is super (all full of sugar and spice and plates that are nice)! And I’m so glad that someone besides me thinks about grocery store etiquette.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 8, 2012 at 2:43 pm

  4. Congratulations to you! (…and all the blogs you chose, of course… and me, natch… but mostly YOU for being awesome and posting the kind of tasty recipes that keep my fat pants in constant rotation)

    BTDubs, sweats are SO blogger-chic.

    • I could rock a red carpet in these sweats with a pencil stuck in my hair. You should know that I find your writing hilarious and inspirational… but also HILARIOUS. I read that post with the pictures of your daughter workin out the 30 day shred with you and that Bi…uh er- Jillian and I was cracking up. Love the menu plans. Love the Ghostbusters references. Still love your curtains. Reading your accounts of your workout trials and tribulations keep me motivated while I’m doing squats and watching Bones reruns on Netflix (can I get some Deschanel DNA over here??? I mean, just a little?). Anyway thanks to you!!!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 8, 2012 at 2:52 pm

  5. Congratulations! I knew someone besides your momma would notice your talent!

    peggy campbell

    February 8, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    • Thanks, Momma! Let’s just say that without your encouragement Lord knows where I’d be (yikes). And you’ll be so proud that here, on my blog, I’ve found an entire community of people that totally appreciate it when I’m a smartass. Love you to the end of time and back! Thanks for being cheerleader numero uno!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 9, 2012 at 7:17 am

  6. Wow, they say “timing is everything,” so thanks for this very nice and totally unexpected award. I was just thinking Monday evening that I’m in a bit of a blogging rut of sorts and then poof, a little bit of encouragement. Thank you for including me and congratulations to you!! I love finding new blogs and I’m so glad I stumbled across yours….a perfect mix of fun stories and tasty recipes (is there any better combo?).
    I’m off to visit Corrie, Caroline and the domestic diva. So glad you listed Tia and her lovely blog!! 🙂
    Looking forward to more of your posts….

    {Main St. Cuisine}

    February 8, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    • Timing is, indeed, everything. I’m always so glad when I get new visitors in my little corner of imaginary space, but I am especially glad when my new visitors are insanely talented and inspirational. I think we all get into “ruts”. I know that if I didn’t have responses and encouragement to look forward to everyday my interest would fizzle. I haven’t been at this long, and when I find a collection of stories and recipes, beautiful layouts and photos such as yours, then I know I have a goal in mind. Tia is SUPERB. Corrie, Caroline, and domestic diva all deserve a sticker, and you do too :).

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 9, 2012 at 7:28 am

  7. […] realize that my award picks for this are pretty parallel to those I gave the Liebster Award to, but it’s because they deserve it, so […]

  8. […] last week I posted a handful of awards, but I felt like I was getting a little long winded. Awards come with a set rules for acceptance, and I postponed fulfilling the requirements for another day. […]


I Really Like Comments.

