Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Soccer Practice

with 19 comments


This week marked the beginning of spring soccer for my little guy, Evan. My professional mommy opinion is that he is in for a whole new ball game. His last experience with team sports was with a local church sponsored league. The way they championed good sportsmanship and teamwork was commendable. The way they made up rules and fell a little short on teaching skills… not so much. So this season I actually managed to make the deadline (a total miracle–I’ve missed it two years in a row. Who is thinking about soccer on January 24??? Not me.) to sign him up for spring soccer with a “real” league.

Watching him at his first practice was an hour long roller coaster of emotions. Chad and I huddled in the freezing cold wind on the sidelines watching Evan’s every move. He ran a lap no problem. Stopped the ball like a champ and passed it to a friend without missing a beat. Yay! Evan! Went to dribble the ball around the cones… and fell down. I’m talking full on face plant. No!!!!

If that were me I would have crawled under a rock and died.

My kid got up and kept right on going. Good boy.

His perserverance made me proud. Cute little fella is gonna need that kinda heart this season cause these kids he is playing with are good. Our last soccer team was an adorable bunch of misfits. We had one little girl that was determined she would never ever get her uniform dirty. This meant that running was out of the question. She had a ponytailed friend that really liked picking flowers. There was the little boy that always managed to run in the wrong direction, and another that spent a fair amount of time picking his nose. There was one kid that was a total superstar- he came to play. He was Evan’s friend and I think my son followed his lead and learned a thing or two.

This season we are gonna see how it goes. I am sure he will learn a lot, and as long as he keeps getting up, I think he’ll do just fine. I was definitely more worried than him.

Spring sports also introduces a whole new concept in our lives. On practice days dinner has to be light, filling, and fast. And sometimes portable. My solution this week was borne in the land of the super fantastic idea: Pinterest. Most of the work can be done the day or the night before so that dinner can be assembled in a hurry. Like take out food from home.


The chicken marinade is a blend of garlic, lemon juice, red wine vinegar, extra virgin olive oil, greek yogurt, oregano, salt and pepper. I cut the chicken into smaller pieces before adding it to the marinade- this makes for faster cooking and the chicken absorbs more of the flavor. Remember the longer it sits the better the flavor– this marinade is drool-worthy. I will definitely be using it for chicken on the grill.


Peel a cucumber and scrape out the seeds. Grab your cheese grater and shred the whole thing. I used a clean dish cloth to squeeze all the water out of the shredded cucumber.


Just wrap the towel around it and wring it out.


In a bowl stir together the cucumber with plain Greek yogurt, garlic, white wine vinegar, salt and pepper, lemon juice, and a drizzle of extre virgin olive oil. Tzatziki sauce is one of my favorite things everrrrr. Like the chicken, the longer this sits the better it tastes, so if you have time make it the night before.


To assemble your chicken gyros you will need pitas, lettuce, tomatoes and red onions. I made my own pitas (recipe to follow in the next day or so; I realize this is backwards but I didn’t feel like writing about baking bread today… apologies). I cooked the marinated chicken on the stove in a little bit of olive oil. You could also broil it, or grill it! Layer each pita with the tzatziki sauce, chicken, lettuce, onions, and tomatoes. Fold, eat, and go!

Chicken Gyros

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into strips about an inch wide

3 cloves of garlic, minced and divided (2 for the chicken marinade, 1 for the tzatziki sauce)

the juice of 1 lemon (save a squeeze for the tzatziki sauce)

2 teaspoons red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt, divided (1 cup for the tzatziki sauce, 2 tablespoons for the marinade)

1 tablespoon dried oregano

salt and pepper to taste

1 cucumber, peeled and seeded, then grated and squeezed dry

1 teaspoon white wine vinegar

salt and black pepper to taste

about 8 pitas, diced tomatoes, thinly sliced red onions, and shredded lettuce

To Make

In a medium sized bowl stir together 2/3 of the minced garlic, the lemon juice,2 teaspoons red wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, 2 tablespoons of the Greek yogurt, and 1 tablespoon of oregano. Add salt and pepper to your taste and saturate the chicken pieces in the marinade. Cover and let it marinate for at least an hour or overnight. In another bowl stir together the cucumber, the last 1/3 of the minced garlic, 1 cup of the Greek yogurt, 1 teaspoon of the white wine vinegar, a squeeze of the fresh lemon juice, a drizzle of the extra virgin olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. Cover tightly and refrigerate the sauce for at least an hour or overnight. When you are ready to eat, cook the chicken pieces in a hot skillet in a little olive oil on the stove, broil in the oven, or cook on the grill. Layer the pita with the tzatziki sauce, cooked chicken, lettuce, tomatoes, and onions.

Recipe from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

February 24, 2012 at 10:31 am

Posted in Dinner, Lunch

Tagged with , , , ,

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This looks really good.

    creativenoshing

    February 24, 2012 at 10:38 am

    • Thank you! It was really great to grab and run with. I always worry about tummy aches when we have to eat and then be someplace the boys are running around.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 24, 2012 at 4:29 pm

  2. This sounds delish! Thanks for the recipe!

    Year Of Healthier Living

    February 24, 2012 at 10:46 am

  3. Good for Evan. He’ll get better and better with each practice session. I hope his fire doesn’t die.

    Those gyros are so delicious looking Heather – send me some.

    Simply Tia

    February 24, 2012 at 11:20 am

    • I totally would if I thought I could, Tia! The gyros were totally tasty- I was so glad I found that recipe! And I was pretty proud of my little guy. I think he will have fun.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 24, 2012 at 4:32 pm

  4. Great looking meal and I miss those days of cold and wet soccer practices and games!

    ellzey

    February 24, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    • Thanks! Hopefully we will luck out with the weather. We will enjoy it either way, though. Cold rainy weather is a good excuse to make soup!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 24, 2012 at 4:33 pm

  5. Good luck to your little guy! I was that little kid picking flowers during soccer… needless to say, my mom only enrolled me for one season.

    I have a daily fleeting craving for gyros. Most days I can ignore it, but after seeing your photos my stomach is in full blown FEED ME GYROS mode.

    Corrie @ Gingerly Homemaking

    February 24, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    • Aw thanks! Fortunately my kid seems to have inherited the athleticism that totally missed me. I was the kid that didn’t play sports… my mom knew I’d fall down more than anything I think.

      As for craving gyros: I am with ya. Fortunately they aren’t too bad for you, so you might could gratify your stomachs requests just this once I think 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 24, 2012 at 7:16 pm

  6. Heather, I wish we lived closer so you could drive over and drop off one of these gyros! Like you said it’s just like take-out, only you’ve made it so much better!! 🙂

    Three cheers for Evan! I hope he has great season and a ton of fun. I am totally familiar with the running around to different fields for practice/games and trying to fit dinner in there somewhere. Takes a little pre-planning, but it keeps us out of the drive-thru each week!

    {Main St. Cuisine}

    February 24, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    • I just saw our game schedule… Saturdays are about to get hardcore, ya’ll. I wish you lived close, too so I could trade gyros for french toast muffins and smothered pork chops. Yup.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      February 25, 2012 at 4:15 pm

  7. Fabulous – healthy and totally delicious!

    Chica Andaluza

    February 25, 2012 at 9:51 am

  8. […] gettin a little crazy. So I used this recipe from Annie’s Eats to make the pitas for my chicken gyros the other day. These were simple and turned out soft and bendy, just like I want my pitas to be. The […]

    Pita « Sugar Dish Me

    February 25, 2012 at 4:11 pm

  9. […] gettin a little crazy. So I used this recipe from Annie’s Eats to make the pitas for my chicken gyros the other day. These were simple and turned out soft and bendy, just like I want my pitas to be. The […]

    Pita « Sugar Dish Me

    February 25, 2012 at 4:11 pm

  10. So proud of Evan. Hope to see him play sometime. What a delicious sounding recipe and you make everything look so special in the picture. If you could only find me a pita with no carbs…… aw, this doggone diet!!!

    Pam Wolfe

    February 25, 2012 at 4:22 pm

  11. […] up on all the crap I didn’t do on Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. And let’s not forget soccer practice.  Evan also volunteered me to make 984 (okay, maybe not quite that many) Easter cookies for his […]


I Really Like Comments.

