Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Chad’s Gimantico Weekend Omelette

with 20 comments

“Gimantico” is a word my little brother made up when he was… 4 maybe? It was sometime in the middle of his Jurassic Park phase and his reptilian adjectives extended to everything around him.

Gimantico (adj): giant, huge, extra large, kin to Tyrannosaurus Rex.

Somewhy I really love made up words. I also love Tyrannosaurus Rex.

Monday through Friday, my boyfriend, Chad, marches out the door armed with a thermos full of coffee and two bacon egg and cheese sandwiches on whole wheat toast. And sometimes, if I’ve been baking, a baggie full of cookies. Or muffins. Or cake. When there are no cookies he raids the vending machine at work for Snickers bars(ssssss). This is all before he comes home for lunch. I have yet to figure out where this gimantico amount of calories goes? I’ll let you know when I figure it out.

On the weekends, when mornings here move a little more slowly, we take time to put our food on plates instead of slapping it between two slices of bread. Sometimes that means pancakes. Sometimes it’s a big creamy bowl of oatmeal. Lots of times it’s omelettes.

I am a picky omelette eater. I DO NOT LIKE the eggs to be runny on the inside (when you’re not sure if that texture is runny eggs or melted cheese… yuuuck). I don’t like the eggs to be all weird and fluffy and Waffle-House-like. And I don’t like greasy eggs. The vegetables have to be cooked before they find their way into the middle of the cheesy egg envelope– raw peppers stuffed in the middle of cooked eggs is all kinds of wrong. I’m not really sure any of these things matter to Chad- he tends to not be picky about much. But he always seems pretty satisfied with my high maintenance omelette results.


In a little skillet I cook diced bell peppers and red onions. I also toss the diced ham in there to heat it up a little. I cook and crumble the sausage and set it aside to drain any excess grease. Then I beat the eggs. Chad’s Gimantico Omelette has 3 eggs.


I use my biggest nonstick skillet to make the gimantico omelette. That way the eggs spread out really thin and cook quickly. I hit the pan with a little cooking spray or oil to make sure my eggs flip with ease, and when the skillet is hot I pour in the eggs.


Quickly I spread the cooked and crumbled sausage, diced ham, red onions, bell peppers, shredded cheddar, and sliced muenster cheese across half of the egg. When I can see that the egg is cooked through on the side facing up, I use my spatula to fold over the un-filled half and lift the omelette onto a plate.


Add a slice of muenster cheese on top and sprinkle with a little green onion and you have a gimantico omelette for two… er one.

Chad’s Gimantico Weekend Omelette

Ingredients

1/2 cup cooked, crumbled breakfast sausage, any excess grease drained

1/4 cup diced ham (I throw mine in the skillet with my onions and peppers for a minute to heat it)

1/4 cup diced bell peppers

1/4 cup diced onions (I used red)

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

3 slices muenster cheese

3 eggs

cooking spray or a dash of oil

Diced green onions for garnish

To Make

In a small non-stick skillet, heat a little bit of oil and saute the onions and peppers for 3-4 minutes, until soft. Add the diced ham in the last minute or so of cooking to heat it and set the skillet aside. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium high heat and spray with a little cooking spray or a tiny bit of oil. Beat the eggs with a fork and pour into the hot skillet. Quickly spread half of the egg with the cooked sausage, onion, bell pepper and ham mixture, and shredded cheddar. Lay two slices of the muenster cheese over the top of the meat and vegetables and when you can see that the uncovered half of the egg is cooked through, use a spatula to gently fold it over the meat, cheese, and vegetables. Remove the omelette to a plate and place the third slice of muenster cheese across the top. Garnish with a sprinkle of green onions and serve with a side of fruit.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

March 3, 2012 at 8:25 am

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks delicious! And filling, and gimantico. One of my favorite made up words in the family.

    Peggy Campbell

    March 3, 2012 at 9:10 am

  2. That looks perfect! And my my you’re a picky omelette eater. Hehehe

    Simply Tia

    March 3, 2012 at 10:53 am

  3. WHat a pretty omelette. Mine usually turn into fancy scrambled eggs as I am not as adept at getting the fold.

    creativenoshing

    March 3, 2012 at 11:43 am

    • Thanks! It takes a fair amount of practice, a good skillet, and the right cooking temp I think. And I have made my fair share of fancy scrambled eggs. I’m totally not above it 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 5, 2012 at 7:06 am

  4. Omelets are something I’m just starting to attempt to master…I think it’s because I never had any motivation to do so since I didn’t like them until recently.

    My made up word as a kid was “slitch”….I’d ask for a “slitch” of cake, which was halfway between a snitch and a slice. 😉

    domestic diva, MD

    March 3, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    • Slitch is a good made up word. Little kids have the most creative vocabulary. When I was 4 or 5 I called my sweaters “hots” lol.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 5, 2012 at 7:08 am

  5. Makes my mouth water….yum…I will try this:)

    Hot Rod Cowgirl

    March 3, 2012 at 12:34 pm

  6. What a gorgeous omelette – I am not an egg fan but such fluffy omelettes even I can’t resist 😀
    Awesome!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: 5 PB Sourced Giant PB Cookie

    Choc Chip Uru

    March 3, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    • Thank you! I like eggs, but I’m crazy picky about them (in case you missed that part). Fixin em up this way is a decent solution to all my egg quirks.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 5, 2012 at 7:11 am

  7. Haha! You are so funny. I love the dino reference, seamless.

    filingawaycupcakes

    March 3, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  8. Man disease!! Haha, perfectly described my men! I always tease them, if the food doesn’t jump out on a plate warmed, then we have NOTHING to eat!

    Omelets fill me up for most of the day! So hearty. Yum!

    The Foodie Affair

    March 6, 2012 at 12:00 pm

  9. That looks so light and fluffy, much unlike my stodgy and abandoned attempts at omelettes 🙂

    Carol Anne @ Rock Salt

    March 8, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    • It takes lots of practice, a good nonstick skillet, knowing when to turn the egg. But when you get it right it’s totally thrilling! I have made my fair share (or mine AND yours lol) of super ugly omelettes that I put on the plate and pretend they’re fancified scrambled eggs. A sprinkle of melted cheese and diced peppers & onions over the top makes a clever I-meant-to-do-that disguise 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 9, 2012 at 7:38 am

  10. Ok, you’re really talented at the flip or is it the fold-over?! Whatever it is, you made a beautiful (gimantico) omelette, my friend. And I’m with you, no raw veggies in the middle of under-cooked eggs.

    {Main St. Cuisine}

    March 8, 2012 at 8:41 pm


I Really Like Comments.

