Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Muffins for Monday

with 18 comments


My kids come in from school in the afternoon totally freaking famished. You would think that they hadn’t eaten all day. Or for two or three days. They head straight for the kitchen and start rummaging through cabinets and standing with the refrigerator ajar staring at the contents. This is a practice that drives me crazy. Like when they walk into some pivotal moment of plot near the end of a movie and ask me,”What’s going on?” or, “What did I miss?” Gah EVERYTHING.

The truth is that no matter how long you stand staring at the contents of the open refrigerator, the options in it are not going to change.

And if you walk in to the end of a movie, you might be better off just watching it another time. By yourself.

At least with the afterschool snack attack I have the option of being proactive– I lay the snack out on the table IN PLAIN VIEW (because the boys in this house are total victims of Man Disease- If you are not familiar with Man Disease, it is a serious affliction that affects most human males, young and old. Symptoms include staring right at something and not being able to find it, as well as the inability to put anything back where it goes. There is no known cure.), and when the boys get off the school bus I point at the snack and say, “I made you **fill in the snack blank**, and it’s right here.”

I find that the little boys are usually very grateful, and this practice not only saves the planet by keeping the cold air INSIDE the refrigerator, but also keeps my breakfast cereal stores in tact. “It’s win-win-win,” (a quote on conflict resolution from Michael Scott).

I made muffins for Monday.


In a medim bowl mix together old fashioned oats, lowfat milk, and plain or vanilla flavored yogurt (I used plain Greek yogurt). Set this mixture aside so the oats will moisten.


In a large bowl stir together flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, and baking soda. Smash up two large ripe bananas and lightly beat an egg. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture in the large bowl. Stir in the oat/milk/yogurt mix, the smashed bananas, the beaten egg, and a little oil– sunflower, canola, vegetable, coconut– whatever suits you best.


Stir in dried cranberries, shredded coconut, and crushed pecans. Or raisins. Or chocolate chips. Or whatever goodies your snacking heart desires.


Lightly grease the muffin cups and fill to about 2/3 full. Bake at 400 for 16-20 minutes.


Cranberry Coconut Banana Oat Muffins

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups old fashioned or steel cut oats (I s’pose quick oats would work, too if that’s what you have on hand)

1/2 cup lowfat milk

1/2 cup plain or vanilla lowfat yogurt (I used plain Greek yogurt)

1 1/2 cup flour (all purpose, whole wheat, or oat- or a blend of these- will all work)

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

pinch of salt (optional)

2 large bananas, mashed

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/3 cup oil (canola, vegetable, sunflower, coconut, whatever suits)

1/4 cup shredded coconut

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup chopped pecans

To Make

Preheat the oven to 400 and lightly grease a muffin pan or line with paper liners. In a medium bowl combine the oats, yogurt and milk. Set aside. In a large bowl whisk together the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and pinch of salt. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and gradually stir in the oat/yogurt/milk mix, the smashed bananas, and the lightly beaten egg. Then stir in the cranberries, coconut, and pecans. Fill muffin cups to about 2/3 full and abke for 16-20 minutes.


Adapted from Honest Fare.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

March 5, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Posted in Breads, Sugar

Tagged with , ,

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can you hear me laughing from here??? I just had to give my tweenager a telephone tour of the snack options. And there’s a big, honkin’ lemon poundcake and fresh oatmeal muffins on the counter!!!!! Not that pound cake is a healthy snack, but really?? Apparently, I need a big sign…

  2. These muffins look so tasty – love the recipe because it’s healthy but also so full of flavour 😀
    Yum!
    And are muffins for Monday a regular blog? 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    March 5, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  3. Man Disease- you make me laugh! But that is so true. Beautiful muffins. Oats are a great way to incorporate health into snacks. I am going to make some oat muffins soon. So glad I stumbled upon your blog!

    Meenakshi

    March 5, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    • I put oats in everything all the time 🙂 It’s a fun way to sneak in nutrients. And heart healthy fiber. I am also guilty of sneaking spinach into the meatloaf.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!!!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 6, 2012 at 7:28 am

  4. You are such a good mom to come home to! These sound amazingly good! I would never have all that stuff on hand, although I should! I did make banana pancakes for Spencer Sat. Never would have done that without your inspiration. I need to stock up on some of this stuff.

    Peggy Campbell

    March 6, 2012 at 5:47 am

    • Thanks Momma! I do tend to have a pretty well stocked pantry, but lots of times when I get around to making something I’m just using up the scraps of what’s in the cabinet. Yay for banana pancakes! These muffins were one of the ways I used up all those bananas you sent me home with 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 6, 2012 at 7:03 am

  5. Heather I love those muffins! They sound super delicious. I’m saving this recipe.

    Thank God my hubby does not have that man disease. Further, he can only go into MY kitchen when he gets permission. And usually when he walks through the door, after we greet each other, I ask “Are you hungry? Ready for something to eat?” and if yes, well he’ll have his late in front of him by the time he undresses and cleans up so he has no time to storm into my haven.

    Simply Tia

    March 6, 2012 at 8:55 am

    • You see, this works with my sweetheat, but not with the kids. But after posting this yesterday, several other moms have assured me that I’m not the only one. My children aren’t defective. ALL children seem to have this problem lol. Made these muffins a few times. They are quick and simple, and subbing ingredients is really easy (I’m working on a savory version, like dinner muffin, now) 🙂 Lemme know how yours turn out!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 6, 2012 at 8:59 am

  6. I love your addition of coconut! Muffins are just great at any time of the week! 🙂

    samology

    March 6, 2012 at 9:01 pm

  7. Heather, you had me at “man disease” or was it “muffins?”. Either way, thank you for some laughter this evening. I love coconut, so I’m sure I’d love these. In the meantime, I’ll keep working on a cure…

    {Main St. Cuisine}

    March 8, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    • You are welcome, Allison! Glad to be of assistance. Man Disease is an ongoing problem in this house, but since this post I have learned that I am not alone 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 9, 2012 at 7:40 am

  8. There is no way I missed this many of your posts! I always look for them…. Hmmm. Anyway, banana, cinnamon, coconut and cranberries, that’s right up my alley. And OMG do I know man disease…

    creativenoshing

    March 13, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    • You know yours don’t pull up on my wordpress dashboard– I can only find the posts through email. I have to go lookin for em (but I do, don’t worry 🙂 )

      These muffins were a super happy kitchen accident

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 14, 2012 at 7:13 am

  9. […] Monday my sister, Lindsey, came to visit me. We parked at the kitchen table with mugs of coffee and Cranberry Coconut Banana Oat Muffins and just got all caught up on things… for hours. I enjoyed it […]


I Really Like Comments.

