Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Mismatched Shoes

with 31 comments


Let me explain for a minute how mornings go down in this house. I am always the first one up. I shuffle into the kitchen and start the coffee (coffee is always #1; if you doubt that, read this). The lamp beside the couch flips on and I call out to Andrew, my oldest son, to get up. He has always been easy in the A.M., a morning person like me, and he climbs out of bed with no trouble at all, heading for his bathroom to make his way into the shower rotation.

While he does that, I cook. Two extra large breakfast sandwiches on whole wheat toast for Chad, and then I fill his thermos with coffee. The little guys are cereal eaters, which suits me just fine, but sometimes I surprise them with pretty pancakes or scrambled eggs. Andrew wakes the little one, Evan, up. Evan is a little more emotional in the morning– if there is to be a tearful meltdown about milk or school papers, this guy will be the one.

Chad does not wake up grumpy. In fact I’m not sure he wakes up at all until long after he’s left me, thermos and sandwiches in tow.

Evan is always the last one out and most days I have to make him hurry up. Friday was no different. While peering out my kitchen window clutching my freshly refilled coffee cup, I noticed lights through the dark fog at the next house down from ours. No, it was not an emergency vehicle. It was the school bus. Evan’s school bus.

Where was Evan? Well standing in front of the television zoned out slowly rotating his toothbrush around the inside of his mouth… naturally. I managed to fuss at him, snatch up the toothbrush, and shove him out the door waving the homework folder at him all at once. Then I let out an exasperated sigh and set to straightening up the clutter that a man and two boys strew all over the house. This is what I found:


What is this? A picture of shoes. My kid’s shoes. One sneaker, one soccer cleat. What makes this significant is that Evan only has one pair of sneakers that fit. So that means that HE WENT TO SCHOOL WEARING ONE SNEAKER AND ONE SOCCER CLEAT.

How does that even work?

Later that day he stumbled off the school bus looking a little sheepish. And lopsided in his mismatched shoes.

I find that in the face of any little kid that has suffered a day of funny shoe embarrassment, you’ll be hard pressed to find one that doesn’t love you for making him a treat with fresh whipped cream.


Fresh Whipped Cream

Ingredients

1/2 cup heavy cream

2 tablespoons confectioner’s sugar

To Make

Using a mixer (stand mixer or hand mixer) with a whisk attachment, whisk together the confectioner’s sugar and heavy cream on medium high speed until stiff peaks form. Use on or in your favorite desserts. Or just lick it off your fingers.


I layered this batch with squishy cubes of leftover chocolate cake, a little fudgy chocolate sauce, and a coarsely chopped snickers bar I had hidden in the freezer for just such an occassion.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

March 19, 2012 at 11:57 am

Posted in Sugar

Tagged with , , ,

31 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my goodness, that is so funny! When did he realize his walk was a little different?

    What a sweet mommy! I think I could suffer a few shoe mishaps for fresh whipped cream treats!!

    The Foodie Affair

    March 19, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    • I don’t know when he realized he had on two different shoes. Haha. He’s pretty good natured, so I don’t think he was really too phased about it (or I might have gotten a phone call). But I would happily sport a flat on one foot and a heel on the other for fresh whipped cream 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 19, 2012 at 12:31 pm

  2. Oh my goodness! Poor little guy. I am sure that treat made all the blues go away.

    Peggy Campbell

    March 19, 2012 at 12:15 pm

  3. You touched my mama’s heart with that story. What a great mom to realize he needed a hug more than a lecture–he will always remember those moments.

    • Awww thanks so much 🙂 The little one is such a stinker. But they both get really excited when they’ve come home and I’ve made a treat!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 19, 2012 at 12:34 pm

  4. I love your photo of the pair of mismatched shoes. How sweet (the story and the treat). Freshly whipped cream? Yum! I love being a mom of boys, don’t you?!! 🙂

    {Main St. Cuisine}

    March 19, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    • Yes lol. Yes I do. Never a dull moment. I threw a pair of shorts in the wash this morning and there was a loud “KLUNK!”

      Rocks in the pockets.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 19, 2012 at 12:48 pm

      • Or dinosaur bones…:-)

        {Main St. Cuisine}

        March 19, 2012 at 12:59 pm

  5. Awww how cute! I am sure your idea for freshly whipped cream made him feel much better 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    March 19, 2012 at 2:13 pm

  6. Love the stories of the boys mishaps and triumphs! Makes it seem like they’re not so far away – keep em comin! So glad Evan got a sweet treat cause he is really such a sweet boy.

    Linda

    March 19, 2012 at 8:35 pm

  7. I love fresh whipped cream!

    filingawaycupcakes

    March 19, 2012 at 11:57 pm

  8. I’m like Evan, I’m not a morning peson oh and I wore one soccer cleat and one sneaker today too….can I have a whipped chocolately treat? LOL P.S. You’re superwoman I’ve decided…your mornings alone sound exhausting, your boys are lucky to have you!!!

    hopefuladdict

    March 20, 2012 at 12:14 am

    • Awwww you’re so sweet! I am definitely not Superwoman (I think my momma holds that title since she ran this show with FIVE kids instead of just two), but I will take the vote of confidence and run with it. Okay, maybe I won’t run because I hate running. But I will walk reeeeaaaallly fast.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 20, 2012 at 8:01 am

      • hahahaha I’ll take speed walking over running anyday!!! hey girl hey lol 5 kids sounds maddening!! My Babci is the youngest of 13 kids…I’d literally run away lol

        hopefuladdict

        March 21, 2012 at 12:01 am

  9. You never know, he might start a new trend… That chocolate cake with whipped cream, yum!

    creativenoshing

    March 20, 2012 at 12:23 am

  10. Hahaha the mismatched shoes are so cute! 🙂

    pearlessence

    March 20, 2012 at 12:59 am

  11. Oh goodness. LOL! I shouldn’t laugh. Poor fella. That treat looks like it made up for that hard day he had. It looks soooooooo yummy!!!!

    Simply Tia

    March 20, 2012 at 6:36 am

  12. Maybe I shouldn´t laugh, but I did. A colleague years back came into work with one brown court and one navy – they were the same style of shoe and she had got dressed in the drak 😦 Bet she would have liked someone to whip her up some delicious creamy treat!

    Chica Andaluza

    March 20, 2012 at 10:29 am

    • You can laugh 🙂 I certainly did. Evan is a good sport. He can take it. I can remember my dad parading socks around in front of my mom trying to determine which were black and which were navy blue. I guess it probably happens to the best of us!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 20, 2012 at 10:34 am

  13. […] Preheat the oven to 325 and line muffin pans with cupcake liners. In a large bowl whisk together the cake mix, flour, sugar, and salt. Pour in the water, oil, vanilla, sour cream, and eggs. Beat with a hand mixer for 30 seconds on low and then 2 minutes on high, making sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl while mixing. Fill the cupcake liners about 3/4 full. Bake for about 25 minutes. A toothpick inserted will come out clean. Let the cupcakes cool completely before cutting a circle from the middle with a serrated knife. Save the middles for Snickers Parfaits with Fresh Whipped Cream. […]

  14. […] a layer of caramelly candy bar and fresh whipped creamed over wounded pride when you realize you’ve been wearing two different shoes all day. It even pairs nicely with pumpkin to soothe my nerves after a seriously unpleasant encounter with […]

  15. […] **fresh whipped cream […]

  16. […] at room temperature with fresh whipped cream and the remaining roasted […]

  17. […] my children provide me with an endless resource of things to write about. Evan goes to school wearing mismatched shoes or tells me a story about squirrels. Andrew tries to explain the trials and tribulations of […]


I Really Like Comments.

