Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Spring. Asparagus. Toast.

with 19 comments


It is no secret that asparagus is my most favorite spring time vegetable. There are a few other things I love about spring…










Flowers courtesy of Chad’s grandma.

Photos, flower envy, and tasty spring toast courtesy of Sugar Dish Me.

Avacado Asparagus Turkey Egg Toasts

Ingredients

thick slices of No-Knead Whole Wheat Bread

one ripe avacado, smashed up and green

thinly sliced cracked black pepper turkey breast

poached eggs, cooked to your favorite temperature (I like mine medium, yolks still halfway runny)

roasted asparagus and red onions

To Make

Lightly toast the slices of No-Knead Whole Wheat Bread. Spread each slice of toast generously with the smashed avacado. Layer with very thin slices of cracked pepper turkey breast. Pile the poached egg on top of that and stack up a small handful of roasted asparagus and onions to finish it off.

To Poach an Egg: the best step by step instructions I could find for you here. **Note** I don’t use vinegar.

To Roast Asparagus and Onions: Preheat the oven to 450. Lightly coat a sided baking sheet with olive oil. Trim the asparagus and then cut into 2 inch pieces. Very thinly slice the red onion. Scatter the vegetables evenly across the prepared baking sheet and then drizzle with a little bit more olive oil. Sprinkle with coarse black pepper and kosher salt. Roast in the oven for about 7 minutes, stirring aropund on the sheet occasionally.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

March 25, 2012 at 12:05 pm

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What beautiful flowers! I like the recipe idea–any combo of toast and poached eggs sounds good to me! I hope to get some fresh asparagus this week.

    Year Of Healthier Living

    March 25, 2012 at 1:33 pm

  2. This toast is definitely reminiscent of spring! Love it 😀
    And beautiful photography 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Colossal Caramel Peanut Monster Cookies

    Choc Chip Uru

    March 25, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    • Thank you! I was really having a good time wandering around snapping photos of all the colorful beauties, and it’s a good thing, too, cause we went back yesterday and all the flowers were long gone for this season!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 26, 2012 at 7:16 am

  3. I’d love to have this meal outside on a patio overlooking the pacific ocean, wearing a large sun hat and reading a really good book. I love poached eggs and then you went and combined them with lovely asparagus and homemade bread. Thank you for combining all of my favorites into one meal (I love it when you do that, by the way!). 🙂

    {Main St. Cuisine}

    March 25, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    • Awww thanks, Allison! I am really feeling the Pacific ocean patio with the good book- toast, no toast… either way 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 26, 2012 at 7:18 am

      • It sounds good, right? I’m going to have to find something like this to order while we’re on our trip. I’ve got the hat, I’ll be right near the Pacific, just need the right cafe!

        {Main St. Cuisine}

        March 26, 2012 at 7:29 am

      • I’m sure you’ll find something– avacado and poached egg, no doubt!

        Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

        March 26, 2012 at 7:32 am

  4. Beautiful flowers and yummy meal! Homemade bread is the absolute best!!

    The Foodie Affair

    March 26, 2012 at 12:21 am

  5. Love the flower pics. I have never thought of adding asparagus to toast. Sounds delightful.

    creativenoshing

    March 26, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    • Thanks! I actually had a pretty good bit of leftover asparagus and red onions from some veggie pizzas I’d made the day before. The decision to pile it on top of my toast was last minute, and a total winner!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 26, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  6. Delish! I do love some spargs (what I call asparagus):]

    filingawaycupcakes

    March 27, 2012 at 10:32 am

  7. Oh yum – asparagus and egg is SO GOOD. And your photos are so cheerful 😀

    Rock Salt

    March 27, 2012 at 5:15 pm

  8. Hahaha, I hadn’t even seen what you had posted this week until AFTER I posted my recipe today. Guess we’re thinking alike! You could easily combine my recipe with yours for an even easier meal (the eggs come out similar to poached if you bake them).

    domestic diva, MD

    March 27, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    • Baking eggs- good plan! Yours wasn’t the only eggy asparagus post I saw besides mine this week- I believe we have all been bitten by the same spring vegetable bug. I was scrolling around for a muffin recipe today and saw asparagus pizzas @ Annie’s Eats, and dontcha know I baked pizzas with ricotta and roasted asparagus last week and just haven’t posted them yet!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      March 27, 2012 at 7:20 pm

      • Nearly everything I have made lately involves asparagus. It’s one of my favorite veggies!

        domestic diva, MD

        March 27, 2012 at 8:11 pm

  9. These photos are gorgeous Heather!!!!!!

    Simply Tia

    March 27, 2012 at 7:54 pm


I Really Like Comments.

