Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Monopoly Strikes Again

with 21 comments


It is spring break in our neck of the North Carolina woods which for me means days and days of hungry little boys underfoot. So far I have to say that they’ve been pretty good.

Yesterday I persuaded them to scoop up two gimantico trash bags full of sweet gumballs (dang I hate those things) and old mulchy leaves. They only ran in circles around the yard wearing the body-sized black bags for a few minutes before I reminded them that THAT is the reason the box says KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN. Then they got down to business.

If you’ve been following me here for the last few months, you already know that my littlest boy, Evan, loves board games. In particular he loves Monopoly. No one else loves Monopoly. Most days I can talk myself out of playing Monopoly because I am busy and there is no foreseeable end to that game. But it’s spring break. And my kid is cute. And after I laid down my new play outside rules (more on that in a post or two), Evan had me cornered in the living room.

Yesterday I learned that my oldest son, Andrew, is some kind of Monopoly real estate whiz. He is also pretty ruthless. He managed to buy Park Place in his first turn or two, proceeded to purchase 4 houses, traded them in for a hotel, and totally bankrupted me within 30 minutes.


Railroads are not a good investment.

But when you head towards the coffee pot at 6 am and find that your 9 year old has paid homage to your game in the form of cartoon, it is all totally worth it.

This week the weather here is supposed to be perfect. Easter has passed. It is time to break out the grill and wear white shoes (or just do like me and don’t wear any at all). I spied this recipe a few weeks ago while visiting The Sugared Pecan and decided that I really needed to make it. Actually I decided that I really needed to eat it… so I did.


In a medium bowl combine peanut butter (creamy or crunchy will work), soy sauce, honey, lemon juice, ginger (I did not use fresh ginger because it’s not really my friend; I just grabbed some ginger from the cupboard), garlic, and a healthy dose of sriracha hot chili sauce. If you like saucy noodles, save half of this marinade for later.


Slice your boneless skinless chicken breast into tender-sized strips (or just buy packages of already cut chicken tenders; saves time, but unless there’s a super sale this is not usually in my budget) and soak in the marinade for at least an hour. I let mine marinate all day. It made the chicken peanutty delicious.


Cut up all the vegetables in your fridge. Okay, well maybe save a few. Options pictured here include broccoli, carrots, onions, bell peppers, and mushrooms. And then some more broccoli. And a few more mushrooms. Heat just a little oil and stir fry your veggies for several minutes, drizzling with low-sodium soy sauce halfway through.


Soak your rice noodles. Or make rice. Or lo mein. I like these mai-fun rice noodles. You know it’s good when “fun” is in the name.


Skewer and grill your marinated chicken.


Put it all together. If you saved some peanut sauce for your noodles, toss them with it. Make a next of mai-fun on your plate. Pile it high with vegetables. Add a few pieces of skewered chicken and enjoy the spicy sweet and full-of-peanut taste.

Smile when your kids say, “Mommy that chicken was really good. Can I have another piece?”

Chicken Satay Skewers with Stir Fried Vegetables

Ingredients

3/4 cup peanut butter, crunchy or creamy

1/3 cup soy sauce (I like low sodium)

1/4 cup honey

1 1/2 Tablespoons lemon juice

1 Tablespoon ginger (ground or fresh and very finely minced)

1 clove of garlic, minced

1-2 teaspoons sriracha hot chili sauce, or to taste

1- 1 1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breast pieces, cut into strips

wooden skewers, soaked in water for about 30 minutes prior to cooking

1 package mai-fun rice noodles

1-2 tablespoons oil

about 2 cups of fresh chopped vegetables per person

a little extra soy sauce for drizzling the vegetables

To Make

Combine the peanut butter, soy sauce, honey, lemon juice, ginger, garlic, and sriracha hot chili sauce. Save half of the sauce for your prepared noodles if you prefer. Add the chicken pieces. Cover and marinate for at least an hour (the longer the better). When the chicken has soaked up enough flavor, skewer the pieces and fire up the grill. Prepare the mai-fun according to package directions. Heat the oil in a large skillet or wok and stir fry the vegetables, drizzling with the soy sauce halfway through. Grill the chicken skewers- depending on the thickness, they should only require a few minutes on each side. If you saved sauce for the rice noodles, toss them with it now. On each plate place a portion of noodles, a heaping serving of the vegetables, and 2-3 chicken skewers.

 

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

April 10, 2012 at 9:53 am

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, yum-yum!! Looks fabulous and that is the cutest cartoon ever! I like your long flippy hair 🙂

    The Foodie Affair

    April 10, 2012 at 11:43 am

  2. I think this is my favourite post so far. Firstly because it has decided my dinner for tomorrow nigjht -yum yum! And secondly because I know how your little one Evan feels – in my house growing up I was always the one everyone avoided playing monopoly with from a similarly young age (although I always buy the stations!)! I’d like to tell you he’ll grow out of it, but even now I find myself hopefully suggesting it at Christmas time/weekends home only to be told “no, but we could play *insert something shorter and easier here* instead. Monopoly is ace – I’m going to go even geekier here – do you all have a ‘regular’ playing piece that you always use? I’m ALWAYS the iron!

    thepinkrachael

    April 10, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    • Haha so glad you enjoyed it! Evan always has to be the car. He picks my piece for me; usually he gives me the scotty dog. Andrew likes to be the hat and also seems to spend a tremendous amount of time in jail…
      Chad avoids Monopoly all together. He literally heads for the hills 🙂 He’ll volunteer to play soccer in the yard any day of the week, though so the kids let his Monopoly absence slide.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm

  3. Aww to cute! Nothing beats playing monopoly in my book either 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    April 10, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    • So many Monopoly fans! I’m good with it once I get started, but the thought of hours upon hours of paying bills and shuffling around little green houses makes me wanna run away. I was actually having a lot of fun until Andrew bankrupted me.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 11, 2012 at 7:09 am

  4. Heather, this looks really good!

    BTW, any crying from Evan this time? Or was he winning?

    Simply Tia

    April 10, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    • No crying!!! There is no crying in Monopoly. Gah.
      He didn’t win, but he lost graciously. I also sold him everything I had left for $100, and then my kids proceeded to talk all sortsa board game smack for another hour or so 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 11, 2012 at 7:12 am

  5. Love the story of your son’s passion for monpoly. It could be a sign of a bright future for him 🙂 Great recipe. So hilarious, just made Satay last night. Good to see our recipes are on par…

    • The Satay was so good! And I find that I am usually on some sort of wavelength with blogs I read… I’ll be making a banana cake and all of a sudden everyone is writing about dessert-full browned bananas. A few weeks ago I posted asparagus and then it was unintentionally everywhere I looked. Hope to see your Satay soon!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 11, 2012 at 7:15 am

  6. Playing Monopoly is painful for me because a. my 7-year-old takes 100 years to make a decision and b. I am not a fan of board games! 🙂 I am a terrible mother. 🙂

    The satay looks delicious!

    Ameena

    April 11, 2012 at 9:54 am

    • If it makes you feel better I laugh at my kids when they cry about losing. Because seriously… that’s a little bit ridiculous. 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 11, 2012 at 2:04 pm

  7. hehehe.. My brother used to cheat when we played Monopoly as kids. lol. Oh and yes, that satay looks SOOO good!! Back in Asia I would have satay sticks almost every second day!!! They’re my staple! Yummy yum…

    samology

    April 11, 2012 at 7:47 pm

  8. […] we can skip the meal– just go straight to the cake). I will sit for half the day and play Monopoly when I should be folding clothes. I listen attentively to my little people when they tell me crazy […]

  9. Looks super yummy!

    creativenoshing

    April 14, 2012 at 11:19 pm

  10. Oh that’s so cute! I haven’t played it in years, though I was indulged liberally growing up. Having said that, I have a secret wish my girl doesn’t get to know the game!! She’s only five though, so there’s a while yet …

    That plate of food sounds amazing! And it looks so good to eat..diving in with mouth open 🙂

    thePatternedPlate

    April 15, 2012 at 4:37 am

    • Hello, Caroline! So happy to hear from you! I’m so glad Evan will usually let me talk him into Uno or Sorry!– they don’t last forever and never require paying bills. For you I’ll keep my fingers crosssed as far as your Lil’ Lass & Monopoly go… cause once you’re in it, YOU ARE IN IT.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 16, 2012 at 8:58 am

  11. Yummy!!! I have some brocolli in the fridge and some chicken breast in the freezer. I know what we’re having for dinner tonight!!!

    Meenakshi

    April 25, 2012 at 1:10 am


I Really Like Comments.

