Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Post 101; An Introduction

with 20 comments

For those of you that land here on a regular basis for recipes and random stories, I would like to thank you from the very bottom of my heart. I have very much enjoyed being a part of the blogging community and am inspired on the daily by things I’ve read in your posts or seen in your breath-taking photos. I’ve been handed more than my fair share of awards, made new friends, and learned new things.

I cannot believe that I have shared with you 100 recipes… or hundreds of photos of things that I’m cooking.

I spent my 100th post ranting a little bit about a crazy set of new rules, so I decided that in Post 101 I should let you in on a little secret about me.

I live in a single wide trailer.

I know. It’s shocking!

To tell the honest truth I have actually spent an awful lot of time debating publishing this because, really, I was afraid you all would no longer like me. Is that crazy?

We have been in this temporary home for nearly three years while we make plans for whatever the next stage of this life is supposed to be. That calls for penny pinching and web-surfing for acreage and rent that is cheap! It didn’t help when last year the village idiot fired me. But though we are missing my income, Chad let me run with this rare opportunity to try my hand at some of the things I love doing and stop just scrambling around to make ends meet. So in the single-wide trailer we have stayed.

The challenges of living in a home that is liable to take flight when the wind blows too hard have started to wear on me and my fingers are itching to personalize my outdated but well-cared-for place. I got my trusty laptop and ran through the first few pages of every single search engine for someone that has published ideas about “helping” the interior of a rented mobile home. I came up empty.

Can we really be the only young couple in a trailer dwelling that wants to live in a pretty space? Noooooo. That can’t be right.

The point to all this is that I’ve been spending my time working on a blog of other sorts… ideas that stretch a little bit beyond cooking and silly conversations that happen with my children, or Bojangles calling to me.

Okay but it still has some of those things.

It’s Trailer Trashtastic, and I really hope you’ll join me there. I will still be here! No worries on that end. Barefooted in my kitchen is still my thing.

I just wanted someplace to document and share the solutions we have found for the strange problems we find ourselves having such as zilch for outdoor storage space or flimsy walls that won’t hold a nail of any kind. And then there’s the wallpaper that hasn’t matched anything since 1983…

That wallpaper all by itself is pretty appropriate for Friday the 13th.

I would love it if you would take a minute to click the links, stop by and meet The Cast and Crew, or learn about why My Trailer’s Not Trashy.

Tomorrow I promise you I’ll post how to make that Spaghetti Carbonara pictured up there, all cheesy bacon and eggy.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

April 13, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Posted in About

Tagged with , , , ,

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Being from Oklahoma I take no issue with the fact you live in a mobile home. Home is what you make it and screw the masses that think otherwise.
    I dim’tbknow where you are but if you have an Ikea near you it is worth a look. They are fairly inexpensive and he great stuff for making the best use of small spaces. I did one of my first blog posts at thekafeno.com about that very thing. Thekafeno.com/Wordpress.

    Paraskevi

    April 13, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    • Ikea might be one of the happiest places on this earth. There’s one a little over an hour from here and when I go, I GO 🙂 The spatial issues are a challenge and there are many sites that cater to living in itsy bitsy spaces, but in all of my reading I can’t find one person that says “I live in a trailer and I wanna make it pretty!”. So I said it. I’m totally soliciting thoughts on the subject, ideas and opinions. Thanks so much for taking a minute to comment. Hope you’ll come by again soon!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 13, 2012 at 10:41 pm

  2. Have you tried looking at apartmenttherapy.com? No you’re not in an apartment, but you are in a rental 🙂

    domesticateddilettante

    April 13, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    • Thanks for the help 🙂 Yes, if you read “My Trailer’s Not Trashy” you’ll see that Apartment Therapy is on my list of awesome places; love it. Mobile homes, sort of like old houses, come with their own bizarre set of circumstances. I’m fortunate to have friendly property owners and we have a good relationship (they’re my neighbors), so the renting is an issue, but not always an issue. I’m excited for suggestions- thanks so much for stopping by!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 13, 2012 at 10:58 pm

  3. Some of the military houses that I’ve lived in throughout the years were full of many of your small space challenges. I got pretty creative. You have a great crew, Heather! Love Evan’s stash 🙂

    Sandra

    April 14, 2012 at 2:18 am

  4. I love that you are doing this and that you took a brave leap! It’s easy in the blogging world to creatively edit your life–it’s harder to be real. First, I’ll say that as someone raised by her grandmother in a single-wide, I have a special affection for them. And second, 80s wallpaper or not, you have created a warm and loving nest for your family and that is more important than having a brick house (although I totally understand wanting to move on!) You are so creative and funny that you will go far. Despite the village idiots that invariably crop up. Thanks for inviting us to join you on your new journey!!

    Year Of Healthier Living

    April 14, 2012 at 8:05 am

    • Deanna that was so heartfelt & sweet and I very much appreciate it! Happily editing your life is a very real possibility (have you seen Facebook Timeline? I’m just sayin…), but I find that while manners are a good thing, erasing the heart of who and where you are is totally counterproductive. And I’ve been toying with this idea for awhile, so now that I’ve started to put it into action I am beyond excited. Thank you so much for joining me!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 14, 2012 at 11:06 am

  5. I love you Heather!!! I love your candor. It’s actually quite refreshing. I will be sure to check out your new site and cheer you on all the way. Can’t wait for that recipe for that super delicious pasta!

    Simply Tia

    April 14, 2012 at 9:32 am

  6. Thanks, Tia! Lots of love sent your way, too. And also, I think I’m justified in speaking for all your readers when I tell you we have all missed you! Did I tell you we’ve missed you? Hope you’ve remembered to snag your camera and photograph all the happy food from your vacation… anxiously anticipating 🙂
    Compliments are much appreciated.

    Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

    April 14, 2012 at 11:10 am

  7. I actually never knew what a trailer really looked like until now…and really? This photo reminds me of regular house! If anything, it looks larger than many of the houses here in Los Angeles.

    In any case…you could live in a tree and it wouldn’t matter. You seem like a very sweet, humble person. Kudos to you for the honesty.

    Ameena

    April 14, 2012 at 11:39 am

    • Thanks, Ameena! We actually have a pretty good bit of space here- our trailer reminds me of an old shotgun house with the doors on the longer sides instead of at each end. It is larger than all of the apartments I’ve lived in- and the rent is nearly half as cheap. The problem is that when you say you live in a trailer, for many people it conjures up images of wearing houseslippers to Wal-Mart and 23 year-olds missing most of their teeth… or straggly dogs strapped to the porch. Your compliments are appreciated- great big thanks!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 14, 2012 at 11:45 am

  8. Sorry Heather we still like you regardless of where you live! and this pasta dish sounds and looks divine.

    Daily Dose of Fresh

    April 14, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  9. […] without further ado, the Spaghetti Carbonara recipe. And if you missed yesterday, take a minute to hop over to Trailer Trashtastic, my newest addition to Sugar Dish Me (yes, I am […]

  10. I still like you girl.

    creativenoshing

    April 14, 2012 at 11:22 pm

  11. LOL!! Really, you come out with surprises and none of them bad ones, trailer included! It’s amazing how the space you eat and sleep in, can feel like such a reflection of the person, and to an extent, it is. I love that you are wanting to make more of it Heather and I hope you get the place you want without too long a wait. You’ve so done the right thing keeping rent expense as low as you can, while you look to buy….good luck with it all Heather! Looking forward to the journey with you 🙂

    thePatternedPlate

    April 15, 2012 at 4:26 am

    • Thanks so much! I’m really excited about a new place to direct some creative energy. I’ve had so many ideas rolling around in my head for so long now and having a place to share it and ask questions and learn new things, for me, is very motivating.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 16, 2012 at 9:16 am

  12. I wish I would have had a sight like Trailer Trashtastic (or in my case…Internet access) when my then-hubby and I did our stint in the trailer park.

    Congrats on the new site!

    Real Life Farm Wife

    April 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    • Thanks! I’m excited about it. If I can just get my budget and homeowners to cooperate… crossing my fingers on the latter 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 16, 2012 at 3:29 pm


I Really Like Comments.

