Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

A Whole Buncha Things. And Cake.

with 29 comments

Yesterday was one of those days. Chad woke up crabby. Andrew forgot his lunch. I stubbed my toe on the vaccum cleaner and dropped a soapy dish on the kitchen floor. It broke.

So I decided to get lost in the refuge of my blog. I settled on the sofa, opened my laptop up, and no words would come. I got a little irritated, poured more coffee, and continued to stare at the screen. Still nothing. Seeking some inspiration I surfed around for things to read- new posts, new pictures, something happy… and just when I thought I was going to come up empty, I landed on this post from Baker on the Rise.

Her Lemon, Mascarpone & Amaretto Cake reminded me that when I’m having the beginning of a terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad day, I should just stop EVERYTHING and bake. So I did. The results were quite satisfying.


In addition to TWO of these pretty lemon cakes (one with a sugary lemon glaze, the other doused in fresh whipped cream and a huge mountain of strawberries; I had to make two because the first was so much fun), I also loaded up the crockpot with a pile of thinly sliced sweet onions and part of a pork shoulder to get Cuban pork sandwiches under way. Then I made some corn chowder to stow away for a rainy day just because I could. And after the kitchen smelled of sweet lemons and the dishes were all scrubbed, it was like the whole day was wiped clean. I headed back to my blog…

…where I found a very happy thing: An Award from Tabkhet el yom. You and lemon cake totally made my day. Thank You!!!

Which reminded me that scrawled on my notepad in bright orange ink are some awards I’ve been too distracted to properly post (I’m so so sorry!!! I’m very easily distracted by baking bread, cookie dough, and roasting things.).

I first need to thank Choc Chip Uru for presenting me with the Versatile Blog Award. She passed it to me on March the 23rd, which makes me a most serious slacker. Uru! I’m sorry! Please accept my sincerest apology. If you have not been to visit this girl’s blog you’re missing out. Seriously. There’s candy in all of her cookies. ‘Nuff said. The Versatile Blog Award requires my listing seven things about me… so we are gonna get to that in a minute.

Hot Rod Cowgirl, on March the 24th, after receiving a heap of awards for which she is so so deserving, passed each and every one along to me! She included the Sunshine Award, the H.U.G Award, the Genuine Blogger Award, and the Very Inspiring Blog Award. Hot Rod Cowgirl, that is 1, 2, 3… 4 apologies. Forgive me?


How bout now?

So back to those seven things… the Sunshine Award asks lots of crazy questions about my favorite things. I am all about consolidating.

Favorite Color?

Green

Favorite Animal?

Favorite Number?

Nine; it's something of an anniversary

Favorite Non-Alcoholic Drink?

Duh. Coffee

Facebook or Twitter? Facebook. Sparingly.

Passion?

family

family

And FAMILY. Dear Family, I just searched everywhere for a picture of all of us and I have decided that one doesn’t exist. We need to fix that.

Getting or Giving Gifts?


Giving. Definitely.

Day of the Week?

Friday!

Favorite Flowers?

buttercups

Favorite Pattern?

That question sounds like nonsense…

Mmmmkay. So that was TEN. Ten things about me. Plus last week I told you my secret. Sufficient? I sure hope so, because I’m really ready to get back to cake.









The best part of getting awards is when you get to pass them on. I’ll include images on my Awards and Recognition page for all of these awards in the next day or two (for the winners that need to grab them). All of these blogs are most deserving— take a minute to follow the links & see what they’re all about!

thepinkrachael— teacher of small children, lover of art, and living in Spain! Participating in the A-Z blog challenge, and one of my new favorites!!

Eat Wilmington— teaches a cooking class! And lives in North Carolina (me too!). Techniques, restaurant reviews (in case you visit Wilmington) & recipes!

Fancy That… Fancy This— makes me laugh with every single post. Ameena keeps it real about being a wife and mommy. Love this blog. Seriously.

Baker on the Rise— because where would this post be without her cake? She participates in Tuesdays with Dorie and her creations could rival any professional bakery.

Dose of Fresh— lives in South Africa and publishes the most beautifully delicious savory tarts. Last week there was a gorgeous chai tea, she has an awesome veggie garden and lots of kind things to say.

I like to stop at 5 nominations; more than that always overwhelms me when I’m reading an award post— this is about quality not quantity! Thank you again to Tabkhet el yom, Choc Chip Uru, and Hot Rod Cowgirl for thinking of me! And click HERE to find out why I think Hot Rod Cowgirl is awesome.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

April 18, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Posted in About, Sugar

Tagged with , , , , ,

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These cakes would fix even the saddest of days – I am glad they made you happy 😀
    And you are more than welcome for the award my friend! It was much deserved then as it is now so no need to apologise 🙂
    Thanks for the lovely (and very true) shout out!

    Also thanks for subscribing to my blog my friend – I look forward to your posts 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    April 19, 2012 at 1:16 am

    • Sorry forget that last part – I was thanking a subscriber and accidentally copied the entire message on my phone 😛

      Cheers
      Choc Chip Uru

      Choc Chip Uru

      April 19, 2012 at 1:17 am

      • HaHaha… smart phones would be extra smart if they would let you stop things mid-send instead of inflicting the totally unnecessary panic that strikes you when messages go where you don’t want 🙂 Thanks for always taking time to respond!

        Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

        April 19, 2012 at 7:49 am

  2. You are a “Blessing”….thank you:) How did you know I love lemon and lemon cakes are one of the top ones:) Have you ever made a Lemon Poppy Seed cake with raspberry filling and thick incredible cream cheese frosting??? Me neither….but I have had a cake like this at a bakery/cafe that is heavenly over the top….I need to find the recipe for this…you are very welcome and deserving of the awards. From the beginning of reading your blog and drooling over your recipes…I look forward to hearing from you and seeing what you are cooking:) Wish I live closer:):)

    Hot Rod Cowgirl

    April 19, 2012 at 2:11 am

    • I am sure we could invent a recipe. This cake here would be a great start (thanks to Dorie!). I’ll work on it! I wish you lived closer, too, cause I could really use some of your brand of scenery. Found your rainbow! Posted the link up there 🙂 Also- it made me really happy to read your comment about my recipes being functional, DO-able, because that was really my goal when I started writing this blog. There are so many people that don’t cook for lack of ideas, or because they think it’s too difficult, or because the list of ingredients in so many recipes are too expensive or totally unattainable. I love my time in the kitchen and sharing creations is so satisfying– I was really hoping to pass that along. Thanks so much!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 19, 2012 at 7:58 am

      • I can’t remember where you live? I am in Eastern Oregon…keep watching as I have a good feeling the clouds, scenery etc. will put on a great show this spring and summer. Cool on finding the rainbow….I could not remember where it was. Yes there are tons of cook books and recipes out there online too but they either have ingredients that I have not heard of or they look so hard that I give up on trying them myself but your recipes are written so duh cowgirls like me can understand them:) If you find the recipe send it this way:) Have a great day today!!!!

        Hot Rod Cowgirl

        April 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

  3. I am very happy for you.. well deserved..:)

    ninabaydoun

    April 19, 2012 at 2:21 am

    • Aww thank you! I really enjoy your blog- all full of quick and sweet references to your family, the people that inspire and enjoy your cooking. Thanks so much for nominating me (for the second time!).

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 19, 2012 at 8:00 am

  4. Great pictures! Love the post. Thanks again for sharing the cake recipe and nominating me for the awards. Made me smile 🙂

    Baker on the Rise

    April 19, 2012 at 11:09 am

  5. What a wonderful recipe! I love lemon cakes and this looks beautiful! And I have a ton of strawberries just looking for a dessert. I may have to make this very soon!!! And congratulations on the awards!!

  6. Wow, that cake looks so delicious! I totally agree with you, baking can the worst days a little more bearable 🙂 I’ve had one of those weeks so I plan to bake something really decadent this weekend! You have a really lovely site here, glad I found you 🙂

    njmt32

    April 20, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  7. I’m so hooked on lemony foods right now! Your cake looks soooo good!

    Ahhh, coffee! My favorite too 🙂 Congrats on your awards!!

    The Foodie Affair

    April 20, 2012 at 10:20 pm

  8. Thank you! i’m tickled pink 🙂 x

    thepinkrachael

    April 21, 2012 at 9:55 am

  9. First off, your kids are adorable…I hope that they appreciate their very dedicated and talented mother! The cake looks amazing…I think that would inspire me for sure.

    Secondly, thank you for the award and for the very kind words about my blog…your comments are the best. I mean that! I know that you read each and every word and I’m so thankful you take the time to write such thoughtful responses.

    I’ve already checked out some of your recommendations and will check out the other links too!

    Hope you are having a great (relaxing) weekend. 🙂

    Ameena

    April 21, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    • Ameena, thanks so much! I think my kids appreciate me (mostly). I appreciate your comments so much! And REALLY look forward to all your posts. You’re hilarious. Keep on keeping it real. Seriously. My weekend has been super relaxing so far (No Children!!!!)– hope yours is great as well!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 21, 2012 at 6:11 pm

  10. This is such a wonderful post.

    Firstly that cake…those cakes are phenomenal looking. I especially love the shot of one of them in the loaf pan. Deliciousssssssss!!!!

    I loved reading ten things about you. And the family pics are too cute! You have such handsome sons (but I’m sure I’ve said this before. Hehehe)

    I hope your toe feels better soon. All these goodies should have made up for it. Off to check out those cuban sandwiches now.

    Have a fabulous weekend Heather.

    Simply Tia

    April 22, 2012 at 12:36 am

  11. CONGRATULATIONS! Oooh that cake. I want me some RIGHT NOW. There’s something about Meyer lemons that is so perfect. And there is something so perfect about Evan’s dimples! I love them. I love how you added pictures to the ‘stuff about you’ part of the awards. The daffodils are so pretty 🙂

    Meenakshi

    April 23, 2012 at 7:30 am

    • Thanks! I love that awards help me to find new reads and readers- it’s awesome. But I feel like listing a bunch of random crap about myself could get a little stale. I tried to switch it up a little- glad you liked it! l was in love with that cake. I would highly reccommend that recipe. And I am always a sucker for those dimples. 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 23, 2012 at 1:16 pm

  12. Congratulations. Very well deserved. Your family must be so happy with goodies you cooked up!

    creativenoshing

    April 23, 2012 at 11:48 am

  13. That lemon cake looks amazing, especially the glaze!!! Mmmm glaze!!! Baking really does cure a bad day!!! I hope you’re having a better day now!!

    hopefuladdict

    April 23, 2012 at 11:21 pm

  14. That is soooo delicious!!! I can never tire of lemon loaf cakes! They’re simply a decadent treat!

    samology

    April 27, 2012 at 4:37 am

  15. Congratulations Heather, all well deserved 😀 Keep it going.

    I resonated with your post today, I have one too many days like that, and blogging, rather the writing is feeling staid and unproductive. You bring out a good point though, I haven’t baked in ages. Maybe that’s the answer to a lot of life’s quandaries.

    The cakes look lush 😉 You are such a tease.

    The Patterned Plate

    April 30, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    • Thanks so much, Carrie! I always hole up in the kitchen when I’m having an “off” day. It is my favorite place of solace and comfort. Measuring, stirring, kneading, mixing: it’s like therapy. Even soaking up to my elbows in soapy dish water while I wait for what’s in the oven and the kitchen smells lovely can do the trick!
      Make this cake! It was simple and delicious and will totally lift your spirits.
      Then you can photograph it and make me jealous lol!

      • Haha! Now there’s an idea! 😀 And actually, after this post of yours, I got baking again. Funnily enough, I felt out of practice and the bakes weren’t as spot on as I liked. But still, I’ve gotten back into the rhythm of it and feel great 🙂 However, the washing up still does pose a problem 😉

        The Patterned Plate

        May 6, 2012 at 3:43 pm

  16. […] Deanna over at A Year of Healthier Living presented me with the Sunshine Blogger’s Award. It asks about my favorite things. You can read about that AND Tyrannosaurus Rex HERE. […]

  17. […] life hands you lemons, make lemonade. Or lemon cake. Or lemony blueberry […]


I Really Like Comments.

