Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

This Salad’s A Winner

with 27 comments


I think about half of my readers have lost their interest in blogging, gone on vacation, or moved on to pursue other interests. After I’d been at this for a few months I collected a handful of devoted friends who religiously visited me here, left happy comments, advice, links, and opinions. I enjoyed reading their posts, borrowing and tweaking recipes, learning a little more about them.

As summer approaches, the weather is warmer and life is in general a little bit more sunny, I’ve noticed that a pretty good chunk of bloggers have gone missing. No new posts. No comments. No nothing.

Perhaps blogging was a New Year’s resolution that fizzled? Or work got crazy? Maybe the missing bloggers are all training to run a marathon? Got zapped by a UFO? Planted a vegetable garden and decided to work full time as a scarecrow? Stopped commenting altogether because WordPress is generating hundreds of subscription emails everytime you contribute to something? Whatever the rhyme or reason, they’ve gone someplace outside this realm of interaction.

Along the way, though, a few new friends showed up, complete with new blogs to read, comments to share, and awards!!! When I was passed my first award  earlier this year, I was so excited! I think it is a very high compliment when peers find you worthy of praise. Sometimes awards are admittedly cheesy. Lots of people choose not to participate. But in my experience they do one thing that’s always great: awards provide links to blogs that I may not otherwise have come across. It is my favorite way to find new reads.

Nickki T. @ Cookie’s Cakes & Bakes nominated me for a Liebster Blog Award last week, and I was so glad she wandered this-a-way. Thanks, Nickki! You should check out what Nickki has to say, not because I said so, but because of the Raspberry Red Velvet Cake.

Liebster Awards only ask that you nominate 5 (ish) blogs with less than 200 followers…

A Few Little Blogs I Love:

Thought’s Appear’s Blog – Thoughtsy’s posts never stop making me laugh. I may attempt baking some from-scratch Pop-Tarts to leave in her comment box.

Rock Salt – Carol Anne bakes and cooks and bakes some more. She made a Death Star Cake and turns out many gorgeous loaves of bread.

Peri’s Spice Ladle – Just showed up on my radar a day or two ago! Indian Food complete with majorly mouth-watering photos. She had me at Indian Food.

Little Grey Box – was recently Freshly Pressed and is probably waaaaay beyond my little Liebster Award, but she wrote a whole post on words that get on her nerves.

If you choose to accept the award and re-post on your page, just link it back to me. You can snag the pretty Liebster Badge from my Awards & Recognition page. If you aren’t all awardsy that’s cool, too. I think you’re awesome anyway.

For the alien abducted readers: let your captors know I miss you. And have them make you a salad.






This looks like an awful lot of dressing, I know. But it’s just salsa and low fat sour cream before I tossed it all completely together. The oil and vinegar in the pico may be enough flavor for you. Just chop all of your greens into bite-sized pieces and dice all of your other vegetables. Pictured here:

  • romaine lettuce
  • iceberg lettuce
  • green bell peppers
  • red onions
  • rinsed black beans
  • thawed frozen corn
  • cucumbers
  • poached shredded chicken

For the Pico de gallo

Ingredients

roma tomatoes, finely diced

red onions, finely diced

jalapeno peppers, seeds removed, finely diced

lots of fresh chopped cilantro

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

black pepper

salad oil (canola or olive both work well)

red wine vinegar

To Make

I don’t measure these ingredients. Ever. Start with the tomatoes and then add onions until the color and consistency is to your liking – onions will be about 1/3 the volume of tomatoes. Add the jalapeno peppers to your own taste. Throw in the cilantro (we like LOTS of cilantro). Toss these together and then dust with garlic and onion powder. Toss to coat. Be sparing with the salt. Then sprinkle in the black pepper. Toss again. Use equal parts of oil and vinegar. Stir until everything is evenly incorporated. Taste and adjust accordingly.

 

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

May 11, 2012 at 8:18 am

Posted in Lunch

Tagged with , ,

27 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on the award and on making such a fabulous salad 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    May 11, 2012 at 8:22 am

  2. Wow! Amazing, thank you so much for reading my posts, sharing them and nominating me for your Liebster Award… I really appreciate it! Your salads look amazing too, I’m a sucker for a good salad. Keep up the yummy blogging.

    littlegreybox

    May 11, 2012 at 8:33 am

  3. P.S … that raspberry red velvet cake…. w – o – w

    littlegreybox

    May 11, 2012 at 8:35 am

    • I know, right? That cake has been on my brain. Thanks for providing me an outlet for my frustration with awful vocabulary!

      • haha you’re welcome… thanks for providing an outlet for my inner food addict. I just shared the image of it with my co-workers… they want in!

        littlegreybox

        May 11, 2012 at 8:46 am

  4. I have not been abducted by aliens. . .yet 🙂 As the weather gets warmer I think more people will step away from the computers a bit more. Yummy salad!! Looks great!

    Baker on the Rise

    May 11, 2012 at 9:15 am

    • Thanks! And I’m so glad you haven’t been captured by alien forces. I might perish with out your recipes for delicious cake.

  5. Congrats on the award and thank you!

    Mmmm…taco salad…now I know what I’m getting for lunch. Feel free to send a homemade Pop-Tart my way.

    thoughtsappear

    May 11, 2012 at 9:34 am

  6. Congrats on the award…so well deserved:) Your blog and recipes are amazing. Thank you for nominating Peri’s Spice Ladle. I love finding people who love Indian food and are willing to try out its flavors.

    And this salad looks divine…all my favorite ingredients in it!

    Peri's Spice Ladle

    May 11, 2012 at 9:45 am

  7. I love the black beans and corn in the colander! So pretty. That’s a great meal in a bowl. I know what you mean by blog desertion. But I am working on it! I don’t think it’s UFOs, maybe it’s the weather.

    Meenakshi

    May 11, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    • Haha thanks! I take lots of pictures in the sink cause I think the stainless steel background is neat 🙂 I’m guessing it’s the weather. It’s not even the lack of comments here that I noticed (mostly last week) but the blogs I look forward to reading that no one is writing! Was super glad to open my email anf find a Foodless Friday post!

  8. Congrats on the award. Well deserved. I do think some people are on vacay right now. I’ve noticed it too. The salad looks lovely, cool and refreshing for these wonderful warm days on our hands.

    creativenoshing

    May 11, 2012 at 2:27 pm

  9. That salad looks amazing. I’m totally craving salads at the moment, since right now I’m moving in less than 3 weeks and I’m trying to eat everything from my freezer or fridge and whatever else I can so it doesn’t have to go in the moving truck…

    domestic diva, MD

    May 12, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    • Ohhh moving is rough. Especially trying to pare down the kitchen and empty the freezer. And then you find all the crazy that lives in the cabinet over the fridge…

      • Yeah I’m a bit terrified for the entire experience. Thankfully my parents live 35 minutes away from my current apartment so I can toss any frozen/fridge foods in a cooler and drive them over.

        And I know what you mean about people dropping off the blogosphere…I’ve definitely noticed an inverse trend in the weather becoming nicer and my daily hits!

        domestic diva, MD

        May 15, 2012 at 7:06 pm

  10. I am so sorry that your readers are in hibernation. I must say I am a little guilty of this myself 😦 But please know I still love reading your posts and thank you for sharing your recipes!

    • Awwww thanks so much! I am totally the pot calling the kettle black here, cause I’ve probably cut my posts in about half, just cause I’m busy! Love your blog & am so glad when you stop by to visit!

  11. Just so you know, I read your blog all the time but I don’t always get a chance to comment. I am not in hibernation! I just wish life didn’t get in the way of all the reading I want to do. 🙂

    Love the salad..love cilantro!

    Ameena

    May 13, 2012 at 11:25 am

    • Thanks, Ameena! I feel the same way about the reading. So glad you find a minute in your busy schedule to read here, but I’m waaaaay more glad you find time to write. Your blog consistently cracks me up.

  12. You’re so welcome 🙂 Well I’m a new reader and I’m not going anywhere! Lovely looking salad, I’ll have to give it a try!

    NickkiT

    May 13, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    • Thanks again for the award, Nickki! Summery weather may not be good for indoor activities like blogging, but it’s always good for salad 🙂

  13. I eat salads all summer long, especially for lunch! So yummy!

    Keep doing what you’re doing, cause I love following your posts! I only catch up about once, maybe twice a week. And look at you, more awards, yay! I’ll be checking out the bloggers you listed 🙂


I Really Like Comments.

