Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Chad’s No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

with 31 comments

In all the time that Chad and I have been together, he has made me exactly three things:

  1. bacon, egg, and cheese sandwiches
  2. peanut butter pie
  3. oatmeal (which he accidentally salted because the box told him to… itย produced some pretty special results…)

We both had to work on our first Valentine’s Day together, so like many people do, we chose to celebrate the weekend before. Specifically, the Saturday before.

I used to work on Saturdays. EVERY. SINGLE. SATURDAY.

While I was working Chad kept sending me strange text messages. One asked, “What is confectioner’s sugar? Is that different from regular sugar?” It was shortly followed by, “Where is the peanut butter?” and then, “How do you soften cream cheese?”

I was beginning to wonder just exactly what sort of disaster would be waiting for me when I got home?

Then came the frantic phone call. It went something like this:

Chad: “Hey. How do you fold something?”

Me: “Are you asking me how to do laundry? Are you doing laundry?!”

Chad: “No, no. I mean when you’re cooking. Like if the recipe says to fold it in… what’s that mean?”

Me: “So no laundry, then?”

No laundry.

But there was pie. Peanut butter pie. Executed perfectly, folding and all.


Today is my birthday.

And for my birthday, Chad made me his now famous no-bake peanut butter pie.


He also managed to get his hands on my cupcake decorating kit and with a pastry bag and a Wilton #230 tip he piped the words on my birthday pie with Nutella.

I think he loves me.
**Note: Before I publish this I am supposed to tell you that Chad DOES know how to spell “birthday”, but the Nutella got away from him. If you look closely the lower case “r” just rolls right on into the cross of the “t”**

I caught him in the act this time, measuring peanut butter ever so carefully and folding Cool Whip into softened cream cheese.

And because this pie is so completely delicious, so creamy and cool and rich with peanut butter and that sandy graham cracker crust, I photographed Chad’s efforts. Here is my gift to you:





Freeze.

Devour.

Chad’s No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie (original recipe HERE)

Ingredients

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened

1 1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup milk

16 ounces Cool Whip (Chad bought 2/ 8 ounce containers), thawed

2 (9 inch) prepared graham cracker crusts

To Make

Whisk together cream cheese and confectioner’s sugar. Mix in peanut butter and milk. Beat until smooth. Fold in the Cool Whip. Spoon into the prepared pie crusts, cover, and freeze until firm.

** I’d like to see what happens when you substitute Nutella for the peanut butter? Or Use a chocolate pie crust? Pretzel crust… mmmmm**

 

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

June 7, 2012 at 10:29 pm

31 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awwww this is so sweet. I love peanut butter pie!

    creativenoshing

    June 7, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    • It was very sweet. Chad’s unsupervised grocery shopping and kitchen efforts… well it’s quite a feat for him. Super great gift.
      I love peanut butter pie, too!

  2. I’m in love with a pie that symbolizes love ๐Ÿ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    June 8, 2012 at 1:24 am

  3. Awwww Happy Birthday! You are so lucky. Peanut butter pie sounds like heaven to me. I’d be a happy gal if my man made me this on my Birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

    NickkiT

    June 8, 2012 at 5:56 am

    • Thanks, Nickki! This pie is reeeeeaaally good. And I’m sort of glad he didn’t have to fool with the oven ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • LOL!! Looks really quick and easy, I’ll have to give it a try sometime. Have a lovely day xxxx

        NickkiT

        June 8, 2012 at 8:59 am

  4. Ok, first, this looks so delicious! Love a man that can whip up a great dessert (even if it’s the only one he knows). And second, I am obsessed with your idea of a nutella pie with pretzel crust!! Brilliant!!

    burlesquebaker

    June 8, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • He has definitely mastered this dessert — it is really really good! And I am totally going to make the nutella pie with pretzel crust… as soon as I have an excuse to take it somewhere besides here (because I may be tempted to partake in more than my share and there are only so many jumping jacks a girl can do in a day).

  5. Happy Birthday, Heather!!!! What a wonderful gift. Yes, I would guess he does love you. LOTS. Have a great day!

  6. Sweet, sweet thing for him to do!! This looks wonderful…HAPPY BIRTHDAY ๐Ÿ™‚

    zannyro

    June 8, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY Heather!! I wish you nothing but love and happiness!!! I think Chad is a sweetheart. What a beautiful thought and very nicely executed too!!! Enjoy your day darling.

    Simply Tia

    June 8, 2012 at 8:28 pm

  8. Thank you for bringing sunshine to my week! I have nominated your blog for the Sunshine Blogger’s Award. See my site for more information at http://yearofhealthierliving.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/day-158-peach-balsamic-vinaigrette-and-an-award/

    • I’m playing catch up after the weekend — thank you for this!!! I will happily post it soon. Can’t wait to read about your peach balsalmic vinaigrette!

  9. Chad, if you are reading this, you are a super star. A. Super. Star. I can’t even get my husband to boil an egg for me properly. I wish I was exaggerating.

    Happy Birthday Heather! You are a lucky lady.

    PS: I need help with the whole folding thing too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ameena

    June 10, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    • I’m not so sure Chad can boil an egg properly…
      But I am definitely a very lucky girl. Super Star indeed ๐Ÿ™‚ He has mastered the folding. And this peanut butter pie.

      Thanks so much for the birthday wishes!!!

  10. Happy Birthday!! Hope you had a wonderful day – if the peanut butter pie was the standard to go by, I’d say you did ๐Ÿ˜‰ I don’t get desserts amde (but that’s ok, it means I get to choose something chocolatey from the shop!) but Cesar does make me the best hangover-curing/cheer-up chips – AMAZING!

    Rachael

    June 11, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    • It was so great! Thank you Rachael! I’d like to know about these hangover-curing/cheer-up chips… they sound super!!! The peanut butter pie definitely set the standard- awesome dessert, awesome day, awesome boyfriend ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Belated Happy Birthday! I am glad I finally had time to read your lovely post. I wish my man would cook for me! I think it is so funny that you were like, “So no laundry then?” haha

    filingawaycupcakes

    June 11, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    • Thank you!!
      And just remember… this is no-bake. There was no “cooking” required! Your fella could handle it, I’m sure. Just explain confectioner’s sugar. And how to fold lol.
      Thanks so much for the birthday wishes!!!

  12. Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear Heather, happy birthday to you!!!! Yay!!! I love that Chad made you peanut butter pie YUM!!! It looks delicious!!! Anything with peanut butter is like heaven to me haha Sorry I’m slow on the uptake…my life is pretty insane still!! Either way Happy Birthday again!!!

    hopefuladdict

    June 11, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    • I love that you typed me the birthday song. Thank you!! I am all about peanut butter – on apples, on bread, on celery, in pie… this pie is a winner! I love that he makes me things, ESPECIALLY birthday dessert ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I had to sing to you haha It’s not a birthday without the birthday song!!! You’ve got a good man there!!! You hold on to his peanut butter pie a$$!! lol I miss peanut butter haha I need to learn to make my own!!!

        hopefuladdict

        June 13, 2012 at 1:19 am

  13. […] day we went to my mom’s house (a.k.a. Birthday Central) to celebrate with my family. As if the peanut butter pie weren’t enough, my mom stayed true to my, ” I dunno… something fruity,” […]

  14. Happy Birthday, Heather! What a delicious looking pie and such a sweetie for Chad to make it for you! I can totally see some creative variations with this pie!

    • Thank you, Sandra!! It was so so sweet for him to make this pie ๐Ÿ™‚ And you’re right — the possibilities are sort of endless! I need a potluck or family cookout to come up so I have an excuse to play with this recipe a little.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      June 13, 2012 at 7:35 am

  15. […] but he does things for me. All the time. Like on my birthday when he built me a garden and made me a pie. That pie was sooooo worth a […]


I Really Like Comments.

