Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

How It’s S’posed to Be

with 29 comments


Sometimes on Sundays we go out for breakfast.

Around these parts we have three choices for breakfast dining:

  • Waffle House
  • Denny’s
  • a cute little local diner full of kitschy artwork; they have a whole wall covered in Dale Earnhardt memorobilia. That’s serious ya’ll.

Waffle House is a grease bomb. I like a good grease bomb every now and again, but I can’t handle Waffle House eggs… they are wrong. I paid my dues at Denny’s. Did you know I used to wait tables there? No? Well now you do. And I did. I waited tables at Denny’s in the middle of the night when the menu switches to very large pictures of three or four meal choices because sloppy drunks do not read. They point at things. I think my friend Summer still works there. God bless you, Summer.

So anyyyyway, we don’t go to Denny’s because a)I have had my fill, and b)the last time we went for breakfast there our server forgot EVERYTHING since she was really busy hanging out and laughing loudly at the table next to ours… she was on my nerves.

That leaves us with kitschy local diner. It is affordable and the food is pretty good. The service is excellent. But here’s the problem: unless you want a FOUR EGG OMELETTE stuffed with everything they have in the kitchen plus hash browns or grits and biscuits or toast, there is nothing to eat.

That omelette makes Chad very happy. Sometimes I order it and eat two eggs worth and then donate the rest to Chad’s bottomless-pit-of-a-stomach. He appreciates it. The last time we went there I decided to branch out and explore my options a little bit. This is how it went down:

Me: “Do you have any fruit?”
Waitress: “No. Not yet.”
—->this is where I’m wondering how a local restaurant in a farming community 10 miles from the Peach Capital of America in peak season does not have fruit???
Me: “Okay well do you have this omelette with two eggs instead of four?”
Waitress: “No.”
Me: “Ummmmm… okay well I guess I’ll have the apple pancakes.”—->if there is no fruit where do they get the apples for the pancakes???
Waitress: “Three or Four?”
—->what I really want is a reasonable portion of something. or a well balanced meal. I have to wear a bathing suit, gah. it’s summer.
Me: “Three?”
Waitress: “You want butter and whipped cream on those?”
—->oh my gosh this woman is killing me!
Me: “Ummm… no… well butter I guess. Do those pancakes come with anything?”
—->normally I would be a good customer and i would already know the answer from READING my menu, but this menu is hopelessly uninformative
Waitress: “No.”

When my pancakes arrived, they were just pancakes. Regular pancakes with a few baked apples on top. But not the good baked apples that taste like you stole the filling from a pie. No. These were the overcooked extra mush-factor baked apples.

Wamp wamp.

And now I know why she wanted to cover it in butter and whipped cream.

The following Sunday I put on the coffee and decided to make the breakfast I wanted to find on that restaurant menu…


So my question to YOU, Mister Local Restaurant, is this: If I can pull this off in my teensy trailer kitchen what are you doing over there?

Oat Nutty Blueberry Whole Wheat Pancakes are easy. They go like this:







That is how it’s s’posed to be.

Oat Nutty Blueberry Whole Wheat Pancakes (based on THIS RECIPE from Dark Red Crema)

Ingredients

3/4 cup old fashioned oats

3 tablespoons natural almonds

3 tablespoons pecans

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

2 tablespoons sugar

1 egg

3 tablespoons canola oil

1 1/2 cups buttermilk (I like fat free buttermilk)

4 ounces fresh blueberries

**butter for the skillet

**fresh whipped cream

**fresh strawberries or other fruit to garnish

To Make

Put the old fashioned oats, almonds and pecans into a blender or food processor and pulse or grind until coarse crumbs are formed. In a large bowl whisk together the oat/nut mixture, whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda, kosher salt, and sugar. In a smaller bowl beat the eggand then whisk in the oil. Stir it into the dry mixture and then slowly pour in the buttermilk, stirring until just combined. Set the batter aside for about 10 minutes so the baking powder can do its thing. While the batter rests, heat the pancake griddle or skillet. Smash the blueberries a little bit (I don’t like lumpy pancakes, but I DO like to play with my food, so I just smush the blueberries with my hands) and then gently fold them into the batter. Butter the cooking surface and measure the batter out by the 1/4 cup. Cook until bubbly and then flip. Serve the hot pancakes with fresh whipped cream and fruit.

**I use a pancake griddle/flat cook top for these. I heat it to about 350 which is just right for pancakes. On the stove I fluctuate between medium and medium-high heat. Do what works best for you!!**

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

June 21, 2012 at 2:50 pm

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If I catch a flight now I should be with you for breakfast some time over the weekend if that´s ok?!

    Chica Andaluza

    June 21, 2012 at 2:57 pm

  2. Show them how it’s done!

    Rock Salt

    June 21, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    • Haha… this only works when I feel like cleaning up the mess though. Because the best part of dining out is not washing the dishes.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      June 21, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  3. Lol, that is so true about Denny’s. Your breakfast looks amazing, yummy pancakes!

    Erin's DC Kitchen

    June 21, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    • Thanks, Erin! These pancakes were so so so good. If I could get someone to make these for me, pour my coffee, and then clean up the mess, I would PAY. For real. As long as they weren’t wearing a Denny’s uniform. None of that.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      June 21, 2012 at 3:48 pm

  4. If you opened a restaurant my friend, I would be eating pancakes there every single day!!!
    Gorgeous 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    June 21, 2012 at 3:56 pm

  5. Rotflmao!!! Oh Heather, I love you! Wait, not in a creepy way 🙂 I agree–a local breakfast anywhere in NC outside of Charlotte should be a no brainer. I don’t know why it’s so hard to find!!!

    • Hahaha — outside of Charlotte. Charlotte is definitely the corporate big box capital of the world. BUT! It is diversifying a little bit. There are some places that can’t be beat. Out here, though, I found it really hard to believe there’s no fruit. Cantaloupe? Helloooo? Peaches? There is a freaking blueberry farm right down the road- like 3 miles. I’m pretty sure those apples came out of a can. Oh! And I love you back, Deanna! Also not creepy. 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      June 22, 2012 at 7:37 am

  6. I just nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award….Congratulations:) Here is my link to the award post….

    http://hotrodcowgirl.com/2012/06/21/one-lovely-blog-award-times-three/

    Hot Rod Cowgirl

    June 21, 2012 at 5:33 pm

  7. Yum. I can smell that deliciousness from here!

    creativenoshing

    June 21, 2012 at 7:33 pm

  8. Yum yum yummmy…drooling here!

    Hot Rod Cowgirl

    June 21, 2012 at 8:15 pm

  9. I want to eat breakfast with you!!!
    Yeah, it’s funny…I went to an IHOP recently for breakfast and was weirdly excited about it. I got my pancake meal and was disappointed! “Oh, right, BB. Maybe this tasted great in college because you only ate this at 1 am after a night of partying.”

    Your meal looks so scrumptious! I love that you made whole wheat blueberry…..Nutty and sweet! And your eggs look fluffy!

    burlesquebaker

    June 22, 2012 at 8:53 am

    • Thank you!! Breakfast is my favorite. I love it. I should be clear though that this ridiculously large portion belongs to my boyfriend. I always photograph his plates because they look prettier. He had seconds.
      I will make thses pancakes again FOR SURE. With apples, with bananas, with peaches… more strawberries…
      IHOP is right up there on my list of over priced disappointment. It IS, however, totally appropriate for 2:30 am 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      June 22, 2012 at 9:05 am

  10. mmmmm, pancakes! Everthing looks so yummy!

    NickkiT

    June 22, 2012 at 7:05 pm

  11. These look delicious – I never make proper breakfasts at home (toast or a croissant on a sunday!) We don’t often go out for breakfast often either, occasionally to one of the bars on our street for a croissant, but that’s about it. It’s a shame because there’s loads of places that look amazing for breakfasts (including a shop for cake and chocolate that looks like you’d never ever want to leave if you went in!), but usually by the time I’d be ready to go for breakfast I no longer want it and it’s too close to lunch! We did go for an amazing brunch here before one of my friends left though, eggs, bacon, pastries, pancakes, cava…yummy!

    thepinkrachael

    June 23, 2012 at 3:48 am

  12. Your pancakes look much yummier than the apple ones you described.

    thoughtsappear

    June 26, 2012 at 10:55 am

    • Why thank you! The apple pancakes were a let down. But I would proudly serve these in any restaurant. And the oats in the pancakes cancelled out the calories from the fresh whipped cream. I am also of the opinion that the word “fresh” indicates health food.

  13. Do it yourself! It tastes better and it’s cheaper! It’s so frustrating when you go to a restaurant and are terribly disappointed, especially when it’s an easy fix! You showed them how it’s done!

    • It’s true: much better results and way way cheaper. It’s a good little restaurant we have here if you want that one thing. But I’ll tell you those disappointing apple pancakes swore me off of exploring their menu for good.

  14. […] and use up all those blueberries you were gonna add to your morning oatmeal. Skip the muffins and pancakes , just this once, and dump all the blueberries into a pie crust, sprinkle them with sugar, drizzle […]

  15. […] breakfast is that I don’t have to talk my children into eating it (except when I make these Oat Nutty Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes – Evan doesn’t like them. Because his taste buds are deranged). So here’s the deal: I […]


I Really Like Comments.

