Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

This Is A Test…

with 29 comments

This is a test. Sugar Dish Me is conducting a test of the Emergency Broadcast System. Remember this is only a test.

simple salad using leftover chicken
I am out of the kitchen for the next day or so. Please CLICK HERE to find out why. In my short absence I would like to contribute this really simple recipe for Honey Mustard Dressing. It’s sweet and mustardy and wonderful. Drizzle it on your salad, dunk slices of crispy fried chicken in it, or spread it on your turkey sandwich…

Honey Mustard Dressing (adapted from Alton Brown)

Ingredients

5 tablespoons honey

3 tablespoons spicy mustard

2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

1-2 tablespoons lowfat mayonnaise

To Make

Whisk together all ingredients, adding mayo last, a tablespoon at a time to desired consistency

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

July 12, 2012 at 9:40 am

Posted in Dinner, Lunch

Tagged with , , , , , ,

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds delicious. I need a dressing recipe this week, I think I’ll try this.

    creativenoshing

    July 12, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    • This one is good good good! I love honey mustard. It’s super on a spinach salad with a hard-boiled egg. And on chicken. And sandwiches… lemme know if you like it!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      July 12, 2012 at 4:10 pm

  2. This dressing sounds awesome, sweet but tangy 😀
    Best of luck with your renovations!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    July 12, 2012 at 4:37 pm

  3. mmmM! I really like adding honey to my meals because of the subtle sweetness! This chicken must taste delicious!!

    Sammie

    July 12, 2012 at 10:57 pm

  4. With regards to your last post, one can never underestimate the need for one’s bathroom. Seriously, it can make or break your day. I’m with you on this Heather!

    And I’m not a fan of mayo but I am a fan of honey and mustard. So I’m thinking I’ll probably love this as long as I don’t think of the mayo!!

    Have a fantastic Friday. Hope that things on the home front return to normal ASAP.

    Ameena

    July 12, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    • Oh leave the mayo out!! It’s really good without the mayo! I’ve made it both ways; the mayo just adds that traditional honey mustard sort of creamy texture… I don’t like mayo either.
      Oh my poor bathroom, Ameena! You know I opened my big mouth and said something about all this and I thought I was really nice about it, but then my landlord acted like I’d mortally wounded his feelings. He worked furiously yesterday; cleaned my tub, put up the drywall, put back most of the floor, and wiped down my counters. I am happy to report that I have the important half of the bathroom back!!! Score one for the blabbermouth.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      July 13, 2012 at 4:47 am

  5. Your salad in general looks amazing!! I wish I had that for lunch tomorrow haha I love honey mustard yum yum yum!!! Your bathroom….holy sh*t!!! That’s some major demolition right there!! Hey, I’ve always wanted it to rain in my bathroom…very tropical haha joking…totally joking!!! lol OMG Girl I cannot live without my bathroom and I can’t believe this all started on Monday!!! Water damage is the worst!!! I hope everything gets back to normal and quick for you!!! BTW I love your bathtub, that looks comfy!!! haha

    hopefuladdict

    July 13, 2012 at 2:05 am

    • I LOVE this bathtub!! It is a very great place to be with a book and a glass of wine… without all the construction mess, of course. After yesterday the bathroom situation greatly improved. I have a nice new wall, the siding outside is put back together and it even got a good scrub! We will be paint shopping today. My landlord realized I was freaking out (I said something and thought I was nice about it but i think he thought I was mean), fixed my bathmats, scrubbed the tub, and moved everything away from the sinks and counters. All my products are accessible and safe and I feel so much better!!!
      You should have this salad for lunch! On all the days 🙂 We eat salads for lunch most days; I use lots of salad greens, a handful of other vegetables, and then leftovers. I make different dressings or we just go with oil & vinegar, but it’s fast and fresh and easy. Honey mustard is my favorite but the store-bought kind just tastes like preservatives and corn syrup. This is way better.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      July 13, 2012 at 5:58 am

      • YAY!!!! At least your bathroom is getting back to normal, and that’s what a landlord is for!!! haha I go through food phases and I’m trying to get into salads right now so I’ll def try the honey mustard!!

        hopefuladdict

        July 15, 2012 at 12:35 am

  6. Love honey mustard dressing – I’m more of a chuck it all in and mix it up girl with mine though! I never quite manage measuring things!

    Rachael

    July 13, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    • I don’t really measure either, but for the sake of sharing I figure if I don’t post measurements then someone may get it tee-totally wrong and blame me!!! Can’t be having that. Honey mustard is maybe my favorite.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      July 14, 2012 at 3:02 pm

  7. Reblogged this on creative noshing and commented:
    I made this honey mustard dressing today and it was delicious. Check out one of my favorite blogs.

    creativenoshing

    July 13, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  8. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    YummY recipe. Try it & let me know what you think. Thank you Sugar Dish Me.

    Jueseppi B.

    July 14, 2012 at 3:22 am

  9. Reblogged this on cadesertvoice and commented:
    Honey Mustard Dressing

    Ingredients
    5 tablespoons honey
    3 tablespoons spicy mustard
    2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
    1-2 tablespoons lowfat mayonnaise

    To Make
    Whisk together all ingredients, adding mayo last, a tablespoon at a time to desired consistency

    cadesertvoice

    July 14, 2012 at 4:24 am

  10. Mustard makes me happy ~

  11. Yum, I love honey mustard dressing! I could totally see putting this on a chicken or turkey sandwich! You salad looks beautiful!

  12. Love everything about this … and good luck with the renovation, some job you have taken on.

    viveka

    July 21, 2012 at 1:03 am

  13. I used to have such a crush on Alton Brown!! (Maybe it’s because he is more bookish or something?) But then I kept seeing him in action on the Next Food Network Star and started thinking…..Alton, you’re not as sweet as I thought. In fact, you’re kind of arrogant??! Sigh. Who knows. Anyway, I still love Good Eats!

    burlesquebaker

    August 1, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    • Who knew Alton Brown was a jerk? I suspect he might have gotten a cool-guy complex from that one show where he traveled around to diners on a motorcycle? Maybe he thought he could become the foodie Jack Kerouac? It always was pretty fun to learn the science behind why things work in the kitchen, though. I’ll just stick to the likable dorky re-runs 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 1, 2012 at 9:40 pm


I Really Like Comments.

