Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

4:15 A.M.

with 26 comments


This morning, a little after 4 a.m., my eyes fluttered open because I heard a noise.

Actually, this is the third time this week that a late night noise has pulled me from my already sporadic slumber. The first two times were weird; once I woke up in a panic and scrambled off the bed around 1 a.m. because I felt certain something was creeping around, and it wasn’t Chad. Chad could sleep through a hurricane, so my scream-and-scramble-for-the-door move didn’t phase him much. He just swung his feet over the edge of the bed towards the floor and sat there rubbing his eyes in the dark, most likely thinking that I’m completely crazy. Then I made him try to sleep all night with the light on.

About the time we both dozed off, maybe around 3 in the morning, the TV in the living room started blasting white noise out of nowhere.

I promise I am not making this up.

Several mornings this week when I have gone into the kitchen to put the coffee on and start breakfast, my oldest son, Andrew, has been perched on the couch with a blanket quietly watching re-runs of The Office. As soon as I flip the light switch and start to wonder why the TV is on, his head pops up from behind the cushions like as if it’s the middle of the day. “Hi Mommy!”

“Why are you up?,” is all I can muster in my pre-coffee before dawn coma.

“Bad dreams… couldn’t sleep. Can we have pancakes?”

Geez.

So back to this morning at 4 a.m. A noise woke me up and when I sat up in bed to identify the source, I realized it was the TV. Not scary white noise TV like earlier this week, but little boys parked on the floor watching cartoons TV. And sure enough, upon opening my bedroom door and padding through the house, I found two little boys in a mess of pillows and blankets sprawled across the floor watching cartoons at 4:15 in the morning.

And they had yet to fall asleep.

I crashed the middle-of-the-night cartoon party and shooed my boys off to bed, managing to catch a teensy bit more sleep before my morning routine started calling. The only good that came of the whole mess was that they both slept until after noon. When I pressed the issue over cereal and milk at 2 p.m., expecting to hear tales of crazy nightmares or scary bumps in the night, they told me that they were simply staying up to see if they could do it.

Remember when you were a little kid and you just stayed up all night for no reason other than to see if you could? Completely the opposite of now, when I’m thrilled to pieces if I hit the sheets by 11 p.m. Or better yet, 10.

I can’t wait to see what kind of interruptions this night will bring…

southwest style pizza with black bean sauce
Typically I can offer you some clever liaison between what’s going on in my life and the recipe I’ve decided to share, but sleep-deprived as I am this week, It’s just not happening. I made this southwest inspired pizza shortly before we went on vacation. Chad talked about it for a week, so I’m guessing he liked it alright.

I used a whole wheat crust, but a jalapeno cheese crust would have been even better. In place of sauce I made a paste with some leftover black beans, a heap of seasoning, and a bit of chicken broth.

bean paste and dough
corn, peppers, and onions on pizza
I sprinkled corn, bell peppers, red onions, and tomatoes over the black bean sauce.


Added a little shredded chicken and a heap of shredded cheddar jack cheese.

Southwest Pizza
And then happily smothered each slice with guacamole and sour cream.

veggie-full pizza with guacamole and sour cream
So without further ado, because I’m looking forward to sleep and hoping to get through the night without any paranormal activity, I give you Southwest Black Bean Pizza.

Southwest Black Bean Pizza

Ingredients ** ingredients listed below yield 1 large pizza, but one dough recipe will yield enough dough for two crusts. I freeze the extra dough, but if you want to use all the dough just double the other ingredients**

1 recipe Simple Homemade Pizza Dough (Note: I used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 2 cups all-purpose flour to make the wheatier crust shown here. If you want to try this with a jalapeno cheddar crust, knead 1/4 cup chopped fresh jalapenos and 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese into the dough before the first rise) OR 1 package prepared pizza dough

1 recipe Black Bean Sauce (Below)

1/2 cup frozen whole kernal corn, thawed

1/2 cup green bell pepper. diced

1/2 cup red onion, diced

1 cup fresh tomatoes, diced

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar jack cheese

1/2 cup shredded chicken

sour cream and guacamole to garnish

**Black Bean Sauce** based on THIS recipe from Good Life Eats

  • 1 can of black beans (or approximately 2 cups cooked), drained and rinsed
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • chicken broth, vegetable broth, or water

To Make

To make the black bean sauce, add the black beans, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, black pepper, and cayenne pepper to a food processor or blender. Pulse a few times and a thick paste will begin to form. Add in the broth or water a tablespoon at a time until you reach your desired consistency.

Spread the black bean sauce across the pizza dough. Sprinkle the bell peppers, red onions, corn, and tomatoes over the black bean sauce. Cover with cheese and chicken and bake according to the directions for your pizza crust.

Garnish each slice with guacamole and sour cream.

Southwest Pizza

 

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

August 2, 2012 at 10:50 pm

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow that’s almost creepy I am imagining poltergeist when you said white noise 😛
    Good thing it was only your adorable kids!
    As for this pizza, I can see why C talked about it so much – it looks fantastic 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    August 2, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    • Poltergeist… my thoughts exactly. I’ve also probably freaked myself out with the Paranormal Activity movies one too many times.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 3, 2012 at 11:01 am

  2. Hello! I am really enjoying your blog! I nominated you for the Liebster blog award. You can find out more about it on my blog.

    paulajw

    August 3, 2012 at 6:02 am

  3. Oh, this is such a fun idea for dinner! And its funny…I’m experiencing some night wake-ups, too. Hate that!

    burlesquebaker

    August 3, 2012 at 7:04 am

    • Thanks! It was a great way to use up leftover black beans. I have a habit of making waaaaay too many. I think I actually got 5 solid hours of sleep last night. Yeah me!!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 3, 2012 at 11:03 am

  4. 4:15! That’s when Kiefer and I get up. Well…that’s when Kiefer gets up. I wake up briefly and then get up at 5:30.

    The pizza looks yummy!

    thoughtsappear

    August 3, 2012 at 10:15 am

    • I’m an early riser; totally a morning person, but I don’t HAVE to be awake that early anymore, and since I never seem to get to bed before midnight 4:15 is no fun. For years I had to be up and out the door by 4:30 to open a breakfast cafe I ran with a friend and then I ran a little store that i opened at 6 am sharp 6 days a week, so I am no stranger to the 4 am wake up call. But never before did I wake up to a cartoon party… never a dull moment.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 3, 2012 at 11:09 am

  5. This looks quite delicious!!! Those silly boys…

    Lindsey

    August 3, 2012 at 11:19 am

  6. Pizza looks soooo yummy! I laughed when reading your post. I have had many of those early mornings, although not so much lately (apparently puberty takes care of getting up early). I think they really treasure their time “alone” in the house though–so funny!

  7. I’m so confused at kids who wake up at the crack of down…like ours. I heard that they sleep til all hours of the afternoon. When does that happen?

    Love the pizza. Looks delicious my friend.

    I hope you are having a great weekend so far!

    Ameena

    August 4, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    • I don’t know when that happens… I’ll let you know if it ever does. My kids are oddly fascinated with getting up super early. During the school year Evan leaves me little notes on the coffee pot or my bedroom door that say, “Wake me up early!” It’s like they’re afraid they’ll miss something. Hope you’re finding a little time to relax this weekend!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 5, 2012 at 9:07 am

  8. Middle of the night wake-athons. Yep i remember those and being a total pill the next day.

    creativenoshing

    August 6, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    • It’s a blast, right? It always hits me after lunch… like 2 pm I am in desperate need of a nap. But I’m a terrible napper; I always wake up like Oscar the Grouch.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 7, 2012 at 7:44 am

  9. Um I’m totally spooked lol I completely believe in the afterlife and I definitely believe in ghosts…sounds like you may have some visitors in your home haha That or your kids are doing it lol I still get freaked out by the movie Paranormal Activity so I would NOT recommend trying to ‘catch the ghost’ lol Burn some sage in your home and don’t think about it haha Meanwhile your pizza looks yummy!! I love everything with shredded chicken it’s my favorite!!! How do you make your shredded chicken???

    hopefuladdict

    August 7, 2012 at 1:07 am

    • For the record, the Paranormal Activity movies completely freak me out. We aren’t trying to “catch” any ghosties, ohhhh no no. I’ve been trying to keep the creepy activity on the down low so my boys don’t get totally spooked; school starts back in a couple weeks! They gotta go to bed lol. Usually if I need to shred chicken “16

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 7, 2012 at 7:32 am

    • … “16 is the work of a very teensy kitty that just jumped on my keyboard and posted that response before I was done typing.
      So ANYWAY usually if I need to shred chicken I just put a boneless skinless chicken breast in a saucepan, add water until it’s just covered, and then boil until it’s cooked through. Remove from the water, let it cool, and it will shred very easily. We eat chicken ALOT, so I usually have a little left over for quick meals like this one, but I always have boneless skinless breasts in the freezer. This is one of my favorite pizzas EVER. And if you go easy on the cheese and use a low fat variety it’s completely healthy and full of vegetables!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 7, 2012 at 7:42 am

      • lol I love teensy kitties!!! Take a picture!!! I’m a cat girl, I really love gray cats, they’re so cute!!! Anyhow I hope your ghosts ghoul away muahahahahha (see what I did there? haha) That’s how I do my chicken, just wanted to see if I was doing it right lol I’m the same way I keep a lot of chicken in my freezer..I need to learn how to cook haha

        hopefuladdict

        August 8, 2012 at 12:25 am

  10. OMG TV blasting white noise that is scary. I am thinking of The Ring. On the other hand, the pizza looks great! I love the addition of the black bean paste…must’ve given it a wonderful texture! And C can sleep through a hurricane? Really?

    Meenakshi

    August 8, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • Yes, really! We have had some terrifying storms this summer and if I didn’t violently shake him awake because I’m scared he would sleep through the whole thing. If a tornado carried us to Oz, Chad would be none the wiser till munchkins made the morning coffee. Love this pizza – the black beans make it really earthy. The TV white noise completely freaked me out. I didn’t think of The Ring. Honestly if there were a tape in the VCR I might have felt better about it… at least it would be an explanation!!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 8, 2012 at 9:45 am

  11. Sounds like you’re having SO much fun, not getting enough sleep…..seriously, hope it’s gotten better and that the kids are not having any more contests! The pizza…..well, all I can say is I’m licking the pictures of the pizza right now…I think I can taste it!! 🙂

    zannyro

    August 13, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • It’s a little better. It will be best when they get back into the school routine and go to bed at 9! We loved this pizza… soooo easy. make you some!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 13, 2012 at 10:01 am

  12. […] Monday–Southwest black bean pizza (from Sugar Dish Me) […]

  13. Just made this for dinner w/our homemade whole wheat crust. YUM!!!! Raves all around!!! Thanks for the recipe!

    Year Of Healthier Living

    August 20, 2012 at 7:05 pm


I Really Like Comments.

