Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Seasonal Sensations

with 32 comments

diced tomatoes and fresh basil for bruschetta
Since I returned from La-La-Vacationland a little over a week ago I’ve spent most of my time indulging in a few of my favorite summer flavors before they are gone, gone, gone until next year. I’m eating peaches everyday. Three times a day. I’m putting blueberries in all the baked goods. BLT’s have become a staple. Tomatoes and basil have made their way into every evening meal.

These fresh flavors are so far the only high points to be found in these few weeks between beach vacation and back-to-school. We are stuck in the North Carolina August summer limbo; the afternoon storms have all but ceased, the sticky heat seems relentlessly hotter. Backpacks, notepads, and No.2 pencils are just around the bend, but the weeks ahead have thus far dulled the excitement of a new year and old friends.

fresh garden basil cut for Tomato Bruschetta
I miss jacket weather. I miss my hair straightener. And scarves.

At the same time I miss salt water on my skin and sand between my toes.

It’s a confusing time.

add finely diced onions

One thing that is never ever confusing though? BRUSCHETTA.

Tomato bruschetta is the very first thing that came to mind when my neighbor gifted me a 5-gallon bucket full of fresh garden tomatoes. It didn’t hurt that I needed an excuse to use up some of the basil from my basil bush plant that is all but shading the green beans at the back of my garden. Amazon basil. Forreal.

So instead of dwelling on the fact that my tank tops are feeling tired and my hair is feeling frizzy (not the good beach kind of frizzy but the why-have-those-curls-escaped-my-elastic-and-proceeded-to-stick-straight-out-just-above-my-ears kind of frizzy… NOT CUTE), or wondering how early is too early to start decorating for Halloween, I have busied myself with dicing absurd amounts of tomatoes. And chopping basil by the pound.

baguette, sliced
buttered baguette
This is also a very good excuse to smear butter on bread.

mozzarella
Sometimes tomato bruschetta doesn’t have cheese. In my opinion that is wasting a perfect cheese opportunity.

Tomato Bruschetta, oven broiled
The cheese works sort of like glue, holding the roasty garlicky tomatoes and basil to the buttery bread just long enough for you to take a big ‘ol bite… sans fork.

summery flavor
This big pile of tomato bruschetta and a few slices of balsalmic marinated grilled chicken was called dinner. Truth be told, I would have gotten along just fine without the chicken.

tomato bruschetta with poached egg
Except the next morning I had leftover bruschetta topped with a perfectly medium poached egg.

And then I remembered why I’m glad it’s still summer.

Tomato Bruschetta

Ingredients

3-4 large fresh tomatoes, diced (approximately 4 -5 cups)

4 cloves garlic, very finely minced

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

BASIL, chopped (fresh basil added to taste… I like a ridiculous amount of basil, so when it looks like I have enough, I add more)

2-3 tablespoons finely minced onions

1 loaf baguette or other crusty bread, sliced on a bias to create more surface area for the topping

2-3 tablespoons butter, at room temperature

kosher salt to taste

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

To Make

Pre-heat the oven to 450. Heat the olive oil in a small skillet and add the garlic. Cook the garlic until it’s a nice toasty golden brown color. Remove from the heat and set aside. Place your tomatoes in a medium bowl. Add the garlic and oil, the basil, and the onion. Toss everything together until it’s evenly coated and set aside. On a rimmed baking sheet line up the sliced baguette. Butter each piece. Spoon the tomato mixture onto each buttered slice. I like big heaps of tomatoes. Sprinkle with a dab of kosher salt and then spread the cheese evenly across the tops of each slice. Bake for only 5 or 6 minutes; the edges of the bread will begin to brown and the cheese will get all toasty and golden.

Tomato Bruschetta

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

August 7, 2012 at 10:35 pm

32 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh yummy! This looks terrific!

    creativenoshing

    August 7, 2012 at 10:50 pm

  2. Yum is right!!!

    Hot Rod Cowgirl

    August 7, 2012 at 11:11 pm

  3. I squealed at the bruschetta, such a favourite 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    August 7, 2012 at 11:13 pm

  4. Oh Heather, I love bruschetta! I happen to have some gorgeous tomatoes in the fridge and a huge pot of basil on my windowsill so I know what I’m having for lunch today. Thank you for the inspiration! x

    NickkiT

    August 8, 2012 at 3:52 am

  5. Absolutely great way to show off those tomatoes, especially when you stick an egg on top. Divine.

    Rock Salt

    August 8, 2012 at 4:57 am

  6. I had something like this in Barcelona in January and I’ve been making it since. Of course I say that loosely because my culinary abilities are in now way sufficient to replicate such a dish…but I do my best.

    This is a confusing time for sure! I totally agree with you Heather.

    Ameena

    August 8, 2012 at 7:21 am

    • I bet whatever you had in Barcelona would put this to shame… but fresh ingredients are the key to making this taste good. No culinary skills required.

      So glad I’m not the only one that’s confused right now…

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 8, 2012 at 8:49 pm

  7. Love bruschetta (although being a cheese-phobe, mine stays cheese free!) I even mastered the we-have-no-oven-but-it’s-summer-so-I-still-must-have-bruschetta bruschetta and it’s just as yummy! I also love sitting on the balcnony with tomato, basil and mozarella (yes, the cheese-phobe gets lost on this one, I don’t get it either) salad with a bit of rocket and oregano and almost a whole bottle of olive oil (no exagerration whatsoever!) and in the evenings, spaghetti with…guess what…fresh chopped tomatoes and fresh basil stirred in. Also, please don’t mention back to school yet! I’m already starting the school dreams – yuk yuk yuk!

    thepinkrachael

    August 8, 2012 at 7:31 am

    • Oh, sorry, Rachael- didn’t mean to freak you out with school chatter. My sister teaches; I think she’s back next week. And I made that exact pasta dish the other night… tomatoes, basil, and linguini. Mmmmmmm. You are so smart to make bruschetta with no oven! That’s skills right there.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 8, 2012 at 8:53 pm

  8. mmmmm, I haven’t made bruschetta in awhile! I should try this. And ugh, I’m the same way with the weather….Kinda love the summer but excited for fall!

    burlesquebaker

    August 8, 2012 at 7:33 am

  9. I can imagine what summer limbo feels like! That bruschetta looks faaainne. Fresh seasonal ingredients can take even the simplest dish and make it go boom. Love the runny egg on top!

    Meenakshi

    August 8, 2012 at 9:27 am

    • I love a poached egg. Yuuummmm. Summer limbo is lame. And because we’re in the south our summer drags on far too long for me. Things like tomato bruschetta and peach cobbler make it bearable, though!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 8, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      • I live in perpetual summer! Interspersed with a monsoon. Peach cobbler…I ought to make some~

        Meenakshi

        August 8, 2012 at 11:34 pm

  10. This looks delicious. I really like the chicken added to it. We have to enjoy the lake at least one more time this summer. No rain!

    Peggy Campbell

    August 8, 2012 at 12:42 pm

  11. OMG I love bruschetta!!! Oh man, I put fresh mozzarella on it and bake it in the oven, soft bread is the best…god I want that right now haha YUM~!!!!

    hopefuladdict

    August 8, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    • I like the outside of the bread to be crispy toast and the inside to be super squish. IN FACT, I think I need to make some more bruschetta STAT.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 12, 2012 at 6:53 pm

      • Thats exactly how I like it! It’s the only way to eat it, it’s so good, yumm!!!!

        hopefuladdict

        August 12, 2012 at 10:56 pm

  12. Bruschetta is my favorite!!! I’ll have to try this!

    Lindsey

    August 9, 2012 at 10:32 am

  13. […] themselves. But when you have a loaf of day-old baguette laying around leftover from when you made tomato bruschetta, AND it’s peach season, AND there’s bourbon on the kitchen counter, AND you’re […]

  14. My favorite summer food is a tomato and pesto sandwich. Luckily, the basil is going crazy here & I’ll be making more pesto next week!

    Real Life Farm Wife

    August 10, 2012 at 7:52 pm

  15. […] back to these tomatoes… after I made tomato bruschetta, I was still left with like 42 tomatoes. That’s an awful lot of BLT’s. Deanna at Year […]

  16. […] life, too) and margherita pizzas than I really care to discuss right now. Let’s not forget the bruschetta. But still there was MORE […]

  17. […] made lots of things with our garden tomatoes, but until this lovely batch of roasty tomato happiness, I hadn’t made any soup. Why? Because […]


I Really Like Comments.

