Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Bourbon Peach French Toast

with 19 comments

peaches, eggs, day old bread, and Wild Turkey
I’m still trying to figure out if this is breakfast? Or dessert? It sort of fits into that crepes with cream cheese frosting, red velvet waffle, strawberry crumble category. With bourbon.

It IS acceptable to booze up your fruit for breakfast. Example: mimosas.

And if this is dessert then the bourbon is doubly acceptable. As is extra sugar.

To be fair, South Carolina peaches don’t really need any sugar at all. They qualify as dessert all by themselves. But when you have a loaf of day-old baguette laying around leftover from when you made tomato bruschetta, AND it’s peach season, AND there’s bourbon on the kitchen counter, AND you’re looking for ways to fill the summer vacation void… well, you really have no choice but to add brown sugar and get cooking.

soaking day old bread in eggs, milk, cinnamon, and nutmeg
how to have bourbon for breakfast

I soaked the slices of day-old baguette in an eggy mixture with milk, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I left just a smidge of bacon grease in the bottom of my cast iron frying pan before adding the peaches, bourbon, brown sugar, cinnamon, and a little cornstarch. Then I grilled the bread.

sliced baguette, dunked in egg and grilled

This bread dusted with powdered sugar and dipped in maple syrup would satiate any sweet craving all on its own. That is, in fact, the route my little boys went with this mid-morning treat.

More peaches for me. (Disclaimer: I do not feed my children liquor, but worrying about bourbon peaches is akin to freaking out about pasta with vodka sauce. So stop it.)

Bourbon Peach French Toast Platter doused in powdered sugar

As you can see, this platter received more than its fair share of powdered sugar. I refuse to apologize about that.

Boozey Peach French Toast

I’m not sorry about this heaping portion, either. Or the fact that i might have had seconds. And then I may have eaten a bowl of sweet bourbon peaches. I justify my overindulging with copious amounts of torturous exercise. Also I skipped lunch because I was sooooo full from all the toasted egg bread and syrupy fruit. I make all kinds of real life sacrifices so I have things to tell you all about.

This post at I AM SIMPLY TIA put me in a french toasty frame of mind. I owe her a big thank you for reminding me that old bread is good for more than just croutons.

Bourbon Peach French Toast

Ingredients

3-4 large peaches, peeled, pitted, and sliced

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup bourbon

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1 tablespoon oil or bacon grease

1 loaf crusty white bread, cut into 1-1 1/2″ thick slices

1 1/2 cups milk

5 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

butter for the skillet

powdered sugar to garnish

To Make

In a large bowl whisk together the brown sugar, bourbon, cinnamon, and cornstarch. Add the peaches and toss to coat. Set the peach mixture aside. In another large bowl, whisk together the milk, eggs, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. In a deep baking dish lay the sliced bread out flat. Pour the egg mixture over the bread and let it soak.

While the bread is soaking up the egg mixture, heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add the tablespoon of oil or bacon grease and swirl in the pan to coat. Pour in the peach mixture and when the liquid begins to bubble, reduce the heat to medium. Stir occasionally and cook until the sauce has thickened and peaches are nice and soft. Turn off the heat and let them sit while you grill the bread.

Heat your pancake griddle to about 375 and generously butter (If you’re using a skillet on the stovetop, use medium high heat and add the butter to the pan just before you add the slices of battered bread). Line the bread slices up and cook for 3-4 minutes on each side (The bread should have soaked up all of the egg mixture and the sort of long cook time helps the egg to cook all the way through those thick slices of bread. Soggy french toast is NO GOOD!).

Stack the french toast slices on a plate, pour the bourbon peaches all over and around, and dust the whole sweet mess with powdered sugar.

 

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

August 9, 2012 at 1:54 pm

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Impossible to wait for this to be a dessert my friend, I say go for breakfast 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    August 9, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  2. Amazing! Those boys ( all of them) sure do get the good stuff. This sounds to die for!

    Peggy Campbell

    August 9, 2012 at 5:33 pm

  3. This looks amazing. Don’t worry about the bourbon. It’ll put hair on their chest. Heehee.

    creativenoshing

    August 9, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    • I know, right?:)

      I have this bizarre compulsion to defend my right to booze up the food; It never occurred to me until we moved to this dry county where drinking is the devil and people seriously go out of their way to buy the imitation vanilla extract because there’s no alcohol in it.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 10, 2012 at 4:15 pm

  4. Love peaches! this looks yum!

    thepinkrachael

    August 10, 2012 at 2:34 am

  5. Ok, my computer went nuts on me mid comment before…I’ll try again… Love peaches! this looks yum (I believe we already got that far!) and you are totally allowed a million helpings if you’re still going with your nuts exercise regime! Well done! (and that powdered sugar is entirely necessary. You’d probably have to apologise if it wasn’t there!)

    thepinkrachael

    August 10, 2012 at 4:27 am

    • One more day of crazy killer exercise and then I’m starting a 90 day program. So I finished 2 months of 6 day a week this-will-be-the-death-of-me cardio. Yeah!!! I earned the extra sugar.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 10, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      • God, you definitely do! It just sounds impossible to me!

        thepinkrachael

        August 11, 2012 at 4:34 am

  6. That looks and sounds crazy good Heather! This is the perfect lazy holiday breakfast 😉

    NickkiT

    August 10, 2012 at 5:02 am

  7. I’m so not a peach girl and yet this looks delicious haha And simple to make, so even better!! Your boys must looooooooooooooooovvvveeeee you haha You always make the most creative things!!! I’m too lazy to get creative with bread I probably would have forgotten about it and it would have spoiled and I would have had to throw it out haha Well done!!!

    hopefuladdict

    August 11, 2012 at 12:44 am

    • Never ever ever forget about bread! I’m a bread lover to the core. CARBOHYDRATES. This was super. The peaches down here put the nectarines to shame… and I love me a nectarine. So you might think you’re not a peach girl, but these peaches would soooo change your mind!! The boys love me, yes! But I don’t think that they know that other kids’ moms don’t bake fresh bread and cookies and muffins all the time, or that other kids eat lotsa hamburger helper and rice-a-roni and potatoes from a box. They have no idea lol.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 11, 2012 at 7:15 am

      • hahaha I ate a nectarine today just cause of your peaches lol It wasn’t that great, but oh well haha Your kids are totally spoiled but in a delicious way!! lol I wish I was your kid haha

        hopefuladdict

        August 11, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  8. Amazing…you are killing me here during Ramadan. Love the peaches…but the ones we get here in LA? Need sugar. Definitely. 🙂

    Have a great weekend my friend. Enjoy your fabulous french toast!

    Ameena

    August 11, 2012 at 7:10 am

    • Haha I’m just helping you to plan your binge for when Ramadan is over. So strange that CA peaches aren’t sweet. That surprises me! We live only a couple miles from the peach capital of the country — there is a water tower on the Interstate painted like a giant peach!! So they have a reputation to live up to. Hope your weekend is great as well!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 11, 2012 at 7:19 am

  9. Peaches and bourbon go together soooooo very well. Man I know this was a very delicious french toast!!!! You just kicked it up several notches Heather. Well done.

    Simply Tia

    August 12, 2012 at 9:08 am


I Really Like Comments.

