Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Blueberries and Lemons

with 25 comments

blueberry lemon muffins
Did you know that in order for a blueberry bush to produce, you have to plant two bushes, each a different variety? I had no idea. Obviously I’m not much of a farmer.

Or much of a gardener.

I’d like to tell you that I am responsible for growing these berries, but that would be the tallest tale. I like to reserve my extreme exaggeration for stories about my kids or a recap of my most recent source of public irritation. Let’s say, for example, we are having a family birthday party at my mom’s house on the lake. And while the whole family is in the yard, some complete strangers on a dinky fishing boat just float on up to the dock and decide to hang out and fish awhile. And stare at our family birthday party. And be weird.

It’s like the lake front equivalent of driving to a neighborhood you don’t live in, parking in front of a house you’ve never been to, and then loitering on the curb with a cooler of beer. Except with fishing poles.

I’m convinced that these guys MUST be related to the weirdos that wander uncrowded public beaches and then, in the middle of their walk, just decide to sit down and rest right in front of our family canopy where we are all sunbathing and watching the kids play in the water, effectively blocking our view of the children and invading our personal space all at once. It’s ESPECIALLY weird when there’s 100 yards of empty beach on either side of us.

I would like to note that women do not do this.

I would also like to note that the space-invading dock fishers were wholly unaffected by an army of barking dogs standing on the dock and scaring away all the fish. AND that I actually didn’t exaggerate any of this.

making blueberry muffins
So I didn’t grow the blueberries, but I DID buy like 34,000 of them because they were really cheap. And in season. And tasty.

lemon zest
It would be considered a criminal act in this house if I were to purchase blueberries and not make muffins for the little boys. I think it should be considered a criminal act in the world for people to just plain old ignore spatial decency. RUDE.

sticky thick muffin batter
Blueberry Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins made a thick, sticky, buttery batter. I licked my fingers.

flour, sugar, butter; streusel toppingThis streusel-ey crumbly topping made delicious muffins even delicious-er. Adding a topping to already awesome muffins is the opposite of rude. IN FACT, it will make you way way way more friends than showing up uninvited at the birthday parties of strangers.

muffin tinProbably most things will make you way more friends than crashing someone’s front yard, but these muffins will elevate you to hero status.

blueberry lemon poppy seed muffins with streusel topping
That is not even close to an exaggeration.

Blueberry Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins (from Joy the Baker)

Ingredients

7 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/3 cup milk

1 egg plus 1 egg yolk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cupgranulated sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

zest of 1 lemon (about a tablespoon)

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 cup all purpose flour

3 tablespoons granulated sugar

To Make

Pre-heat the oven to 375. Line a muffin pan with paper cups.

Brown the butter. Melt it in a saucepan over medium heat. After it gets frothy and then sounds like your morning bowl of Rice Krispies for a bit, the butter will settle down and begin to brown. You’re looking for a medium golden brown color and a little bit of a nutty smell. Pour the butter immediately into a small bowl so it doesn’t continue to burn.

In a medium bowl whisk together the milk, egg, yolk, and vanilla. Set it aside.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Dump the milk/egg mixture into the flour mixture and mix it all together. Stir in the lemon zest, poppy seeds, and blueberries until it’s all just combined and then distribute the batter evenly between the 12 lined muffin cups.

Using your fingers, crumble the last 3 tablespoons of butter with the flour and sugar until coarse crumbs are formed. Sprinkle the mixture over the muffin batter.

Bake them for 18 to 20 minutes until the crumbly topping is golden and a skewer inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean.

eat the muffins

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

August 13, 2012 at 10:00 am

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yum!! Blueberry/lemon is one of the most amazing combinations!!! We’re stocking up, too. Blueberries won’t be around too long. And yes, those people are creepy. And in need of cable. Or common sense. Maybe both.

    Year Of Healthier Living

    August 13, 2012 at 10:09 am

    • I am currently hoarding all the blueberries. I’m gonna need to confiscate yours.

      And aren’t those people the creepster worst?! So glad it’s not just me that experiences this.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 14, 2012 at 7:34 pm

  2. You are soo funny, and Chuck agrees with you entirely on this personal space thing. And also, these look especially yummy. And, the fish disappeared. Who knows where….but, it’s all gone.

    Peggy Campbell

    August 13, 2012 at 10:12 am

    • All people should agree on the personal space thing.
      These muffins WERE especially yummy! Spencer would love them. Soccer snack!
      Wonder where that fish went…?

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 14, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  3. Lol, thanks for the laugh this morning!

    Erin's DC Kitchen

    August 13, 2012 at 10:23 am

    • I have a good friend that thinks it’s especially funny when I get all teed off. It’s her favorite. So glad some good can come of it ! 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 14, 2012 at 7:37 pm

  4. Haha thanks for brightening my morning with a funny and delicious post 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    August 13, 2012 at 3:50 pm

  5. Haha, what in the world. What do you say in that situation? The muffins look so good too!

    creativenoshing

    August 13, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    • I just don’t know what you say in that situation!? Sooooo awkward. We thought letting the dogs out would do all the talking but I guess they were slow, or rude, or D.all of the above. We love love love these muffins, though! I want more.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 14, 2012 at 7:47 pm

  6. Oh my goodness, I could smell them! I can also see the rude people show up and wish I was there next to you as you took notice. We would have said something you and I …..it would have been smart and funny then we would have eaten some great food after and laughed all day..:)

    Tara Quinones

    August 13, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  7. Haha – why do people do that on the beach, “hmm, this beach is completely empty, so I’m going to sit….here! on your knee!” We went to the pool a couple fo weeks ago here and nearly died, because we thought this guy was going to flash me – he was walking to the pool from his lounger and ‘adjusting’ his swimming shorts, except that instead of taking the logical empty path striahgt to the pool, he walked rigth over next to our loungers til he was standing right at the bottom of them….cue some held breaths and panicked faces…nope, he just walked on (luckily) as he was obviously just taking the most spatially awkward and invasive route to the pool after all. Weird. I can just picture the rude fishers next to you all, annoying, but it does make for a funny picture in my head! Muffins look yum, although you know me – I’m all about te chocolate, blueberries just don’t get a look in with me!!

    thepinkrachael

    August 14, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • Why DO people do that? It is so strange. Thank goodness the flasher moved on! Or maybe he was gonna flash and then chickened out.

      I am not picky when it comes to sugary goodness. Oh no! Chocolate, berries, fluffy cakes… ICE CREAM!! I love it all.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 14, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      • haha! fruit still has that healthy element that makes me suspicious of it as a treat!! AND, speaking of no personal space – right after commenting you yesterday, I went out to the pool again and got in for a swim. I should at this point note that aside from me, there were a family sat at one edge of the pool, two girls playing at one end of it and other than that me and one other person swimming laps. This in mind, imagine my surprise when I turned at one end only to be nearly flattened by Huge Swimming Man nearly diving on top of me and then proceeding to nearly run me flat with each lap he swam! No matter how much I tried to move out of his way, he was a fast swimmer and not at all bothered about an impending crash into me! I got out shortly after. (clearly my apartment building is full of people with no concept of personal space!)

        thepinkrachael

        August 15, 2012 at 3:10 am

  8. They should make this into a candle so I can buy it!!! I would love for my house to smell like blueberry lemon muffins!! I love that combination!!! haha I feel like I can smell that lemon zest!!! BTW that crumbly topping….holy crap you had me at crumbly lol And I LOVE the fact that you perfectly cooked them…not dark, they look straight out of a Martha Stewart book or something haha It’s funny because I went to the grocery store and was thinking about buying muffins for my friends birthday but they looked like burnt crap so when I saw your blog tonight I was like YAY!!!!!!!! haha Oh and I really love blueberries…this is one of my favorite times of the year for fruit!!!

    Anyhow those men are totally bizarre!!! Were they drunk??? I mean honestly, what the heck!!! I would have been like ‘get the hell out!!’ lol Its like when you’re at the gym and theres a whole line of machines open next to you and someone comes in and gets on the one directly next to you lol B*tches be hoes I swear!!! People are strange I tell you strange!! At least they didn’t get your muffins!!! lol

    hopefuladdict

    August 14, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    • And when you’re in the movie theater full of empty seats and people sit RIGHT FREAKING NEXT TO YOU. What IS that?

      Anyway… I hope you’ll make these muffins. They’re delicious! Joy the Baker is pure genius. Your friend will love them!!! And grocery store muffins have weird things in them. Like phosphates. I’m not even gonna pretend to know what that is. Crumbly topping is awesome. And the best part is it’s just flour, sugar, and butter. BAM! delicious. 🙂

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 16, 2012 at 10:05 am

      • All my comments section is all screwed up…I missed like half of my comments in the last three days wtf lol I am not happy with this!!! Oh and yes people in a movie theater are especially annoying!!! I hate when they sit in the same row as me when there’s 20 rows front and back empty!! B*tches be hoes!!! haha
        I want a muffin lol

        hopefuladdict

        August 18, 2012 at 12:22 am

  9. Loving the blueberry lemon combination, would never have occurred to me , though.
    Nice post!

    The spicy saffron

    August 15, 2012 at 12:11 pm

  10. hey mommy its andrew thought i should give this a view

    andrewtillson

    August 15, 2012 at 7:08 pm

  11. […] When life hands you lemons, make lemonade. Or lemon cake. Or lemony blueberry muffins. […]

  12. […] summery favor and use up all those blueberries you were gonna add to your morning oatmeal. Skip the muffins and pancakes , just this once, and dump all the blueberries into a pie crust, sprinkle them with […]

  13. […] butter, you are missing out on one of the greatest things life has to offer, and I’m not even exaggerating about that. Apple butter? Almost as good (not that thick weird apple butter that’s canned like jam […]


I Really Like Comments.

