Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

7 Things to Do When You’re Stressed

with 19 comments

When life hands you lemons, make lemonade. Or lemon cake. Or lemony blueberry muffins.


The last week has yielded, for me, a metaphorical 5-gallon bucket of lemons. In order to maintain a level of relative calm in this sour hurricane of a storm, I have adapted a few practices that have made it bearable; things I do when I’m stressed that I really thought I should share.

#1 Find an ink pen and doodle all over a pad of paper while you spill all your guts to your mom (or your sister, or your best friend, or all of the above) on the phone. Acceptable doodles include all manner of hearts and swirlies, the names of all your loved ones, including your cats and dogs, and polka dots.

#2 Clean something. I know that this does not sound nearly as fun as drawing swirlies with a hot pink pen, but mindlessly scrubbing things lets you focus on a simple task while exerting an unreasonable amount of force on inanimate objects like bath tubs or ceiling fans. Plus the results are totally satisfying. Tip: avoid cleaning products that boast “Scrub Free!!!” or “Works like Magic!!!” labels. These are not going to help you.

#3 Bake bread. I find baking to be waaaay theraputic anyway, but baking bread is simple and it can go on for awhile. Slapping dough down on your floured table and kneading your little heart out is a super duper stress reliever. And when the baking is done you have big thick slices of warm bread to slather with blueberry butter. THAT is comfort.

homemade honey wheat loaf with blueberry butter

#4 Find the Kenpo X video from the P-90X work out series, put on your sweats, get a big bottle of water, and then pretend to punch the daylights out of the source of your stress. It’s like pillow punching, except you can work on your fitness. And you’ll feel like a badass. Oh! And if you keep it up you’ll look like a badass, too. Perks.

#5 Give yourself a pedicure. Soak your feet in warm water, epsom salts, and a little milk. Make a scrub with some kosker salt and a few glugs of olive oil. Pick the happiest nail polish… your favorite summery pink or red, a girly soft pinky white, a juicy melon color, or go crazy with stripes of green and blue. Whatever you do, stay away from navy or brown or deep dark purple. Save those for November. Right now you need pretty colors and peep toe shoes. Yes yes yes.

olive oil scrub

#6 Go to your favorite coffee shop. Order your favorite drink. The full fat version. Indulge in baked goods. Curl up in one of those huge fluffy arm chairs with your beverage, tuck your feet under you, and just BE.

#7 Hug the ones you love the most. Hug them tight. Don’t let go.

me & my babies; Andrew's been eating blue candy. Can you tell?

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

August 22, 2012 at 5:32 pm

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. First things first, that glaze on that lemony goodness cake looks amazing! Recipe please!!! And I have never even heard of blueberry butter but it looks yummy!!! I want fruity butter hahaha Number 6 was always my favorite stress reliever…I miss that, that’s for sure!! Now I have to know why in the heck is your son’s mouth so blue!!! lol You guys eating freeze pops?? Cute picture btw, and I love your doodles!!! I think I will doodle tomorrow!!! Sounds like fun!!! Mmmm lemony cake with glaze haha

    hopefuladdict

    August 22, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    • I scribble swirlies on everything lol. It’s so mindless. Find you a good pen and doodle your heart out! This is a cake I found a few months back on a Tuesdays with Dorie post. It is completely amazing. The recipe is here: http://www.treats-sf.com/2012/04/twd-lemon-loaf-cake.html
      I love smashing things into butter. Strawberries, peaches, blueberries…. Mmmmmmm. And at dinner I do garlic or chives or other fresh herbs. My son’s mouth is blue because I let him get some super junky candy in line at the grocery store. Like a push pop lollipop or something. I took several pictures where the boys look normal, but I thought this one was funnier.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 23, 2012 at 8:42 am

      • I love the blue mouth are you kidding!!! I wanted to get whatever he ate for my godson he loves when his mouth changes colors hahaha Yeah that cake looks delish! I literally might make that for the holidays this year lol I don’t eat butter anymore, but maybe for Thanksgiving I shall mix up some of that garlic, herb butter you speak of and slather it on a roll lol Mmmmm P.S. I will be doodling on my way to NY tomorrow!!

        hopefuladdict

        August 23, 2012 at 9:11 pm

  2. Hopefully the hurricane has passed… Wonderful looking bread!!!

    zannyro

    August 22, 2012 at 10:53 pm

  3. Number 7 is my favorite. And YUM- lemon cake!

    the usual bliss

    August 23, 2012 at 12:30 am

  4. You have stress management down pat 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    August 23, 2012 at 1:33 am

  5. 6 and 7 are definitely the best solutions I think – love that photo of you and your boys, it’s so cute! I would have to add a large beer/wine into that mix too though. Hope you’re feeling less stressed after that tasy looking bread! (and don’t forget – brownies fix everything!)

    Rachael

    August 23, 2012 at 3:32 am

    • A big ‘ol glass of wine would definitely have helped. It would be best incorporated into the pedicure I think. The stress has definitely subsided, and don’t you know I have a pan of brownies in the fridge!!! Oh yes I do.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 23, 2012 at 8:47 am

  6. In the beginning, middle, and end of all stress,pray, pray pray! And do all of these things, too! Love this post, especially this picture!

    Peggy Campbell

    August 23, 2012 at 6:29 am

  7. Hope your day is better today!

    Year Of Healthier Living

    August 23, 2012 at 7:44 am

  8. Hi Heather, I’m glad things have started to turn around. Love that picture of you and your boys, and wow such beautiful blue eyes! Go get some more of those hugs 🙂

    Sandra - The Foodie Affair

    August 24, 2012 at 1:05 am

    • Thanks, Sandra! That’s so nice! Things are definitely spinning back in my favor (thanks to lots of tasty coffee and hugs from my 3 guys!).

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      August 28, 2012 at 8:10 pm

  9. […] I mentioned it a little bit last week, but I thought I’d take just a minute to talk about how much I really like to smash things […]

  10. […] I mentioned it a little bit last week, but I thought I’d take just a minute to talk about how much I really like to smash things […]


I Really Like Comments.

