Sugar Dish Me

"if you can read, you can cook" -my momma

Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

with 19 comments

homemade tomato soup

Today felt like fall.

It was the very first morning that I could feel that teensy bit of crispness in the morning air. The sky was insanely, deeply, perfectly blue. And there was not a cloud in it. Still warm enough outside to wear a tank top and my old faithful Rainbow flip flops, but cool enough to wear my trusty worn blue jeans without sweat behind my knees. The humidity seems to have washed away with yesterday’s rain showers. The stifling, suffocating, muggy Carolina summer heat seems to have retreated, if only for a day or two.

This morning was super perfect. The little boys had a sleepover at Grammy’s which means that Chad and I had a day filled with sleeping later than usual, lazing around the kitchen table with extra mugs of coffee and a few good reads, a last minute decision to head out for a late breakfast, and then, taking that first step out the back door and realizing that this is the first day it smelled like fall. We took the rail buggy on a little morning adventure and I swear to you that the few fallen leaves scattering the two-lane winding road were actually SWIRLING behind us as we drove.

homemade tomato basil soup recipe

Breakfast brought us more coffee, crispy bacon that I didn’t have to cook OR clean up, and word search placemats that sparked the fiercest competition.

I lost. But I’m pretty sure Chad was cheating so that means I win by default, right? Right.

So really, other than me losing, but really winning, but actually losing (sort of), this morning was completely perfect. It made me want to take everything summery from my garden and smash it up into something cozy and fall-ish. Which made this the most perfect day to tell you about Roasted Tomato Basil Soup.

You see all those tomatoes in that photo up there? And the basil that’s gone completely and insanely out of control? We grew alla that.

homemade tomato basil soup recipe

I’ve made lots of things with our garden tomatoes, but until this lovely batch of roasty tomato happiness, I hadn’t made any soup. Why? Because no one else in this house will eat soup. Because they are all crazy.

roasted tomatoes

I made this soup just for me. Which made it that much more satisfying. I ate it for lunch every day this week.

roasted tomato soup

I ate this soup with homemade croutons. I ate it with extra chopped basil. I ate it with toasty slices of baguette. I had more soup with cheese and then another bowl with a grilled cheese. I had the last bowl with a big green salad on the side. I didn’t share. It was awesome.

Make this soup. It’s summery and satisfying with a hint of fall harvest season to come. Get ready for lots of perfect mornings.

Roasted Tomato Basil Soup (based on THIS recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod)

Ingredients

**To Roast the Tomatoes**

-about 2 1/2 pounds of roma tomatoes, quartered (any meaty, roast-worthy garden tomato would do)

-2 tablespoons olive oil

-kosher salt to taste

**To Make the Soup**

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

4 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1 cup freshly chopped basil

1 (15 ounce) can diced tomatoes

4 cups chicken or vegetable broth

the tomatoes you roasted

salt & pepper to taste

To Roast the Tomatoes

Pre-heat the oven to 400. Line a rimmed baking sheet or 9 X 13 pan with foil. Spread the quartered tomatoes across the foil in a single layer, drizzle with the olive oil, and toss them around a bit to coat. Spread them back out evenly in the pan and sprinkle with the kosher salt. **Note: Go easy on the salt here. You can add more salt to the finished soup if you need to** Roast the tomatoes in the oven for about 45 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and set the tomatoes aside.

To Make the Soup

In a large stock pot  heat the olive oil. Add the onion, and keeping the stove at about medium-high, cook them until they are tender (2-3 minutes should do). Stir in the garlic and crushed red pepper flakes. Cook for about another minute or two. Add the canned tomatoes, fresh basil, and broth. Stir in the roasted tomatoes. Bring the soup to a low boil and then reduce the heat to medium low and continue cooking for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Pour the cooked soup into a blender or use an immersion (stick) blender to pulse the soup to your desired consistency.

Garnish with more fresh basil, cheesy croutons, a crusty loaf of bread, or a sprinkle of shredded cheese.

soup and bread

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

September 9, 2012 at 9:29 pm

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heather, this is great! Another use for our roasted tomato sauce!!! And yes, today was amazing. Glad you had a rail buggy ride!!

    Year Of Healthier Living

    September 9, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    • Love that roasted tomato sauce! I’m making another big batch of this soup this week 🙂 Love it. Hope this weather holds for awhile!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      September 10, 2012 at 3:50 pm

  2. You create a beautiful autumn image which is just calling for this stunning soup 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Choc Chip Uru

    September 9, 2012 at 10:25 pm

  3. This looks so delicious. Yum! Your morning sounded awesome.

    creativenoshing

    September 9, 2012 at 10:44 pm

  4. Fall is in the air!!! The last of the summer crop put to good use right there! YUM!!! I’m glad you and Chad had a moment to yourselves, it sounded like a nice morning!!! I want some soup haha

    hopefuladdict

    September 10, 2012 at 1:30 am

    • I want soup, too. Gotta make more! Good thing I don’t have to share. I love it when we have mornings to ourselves. It’s my favorite. And bring on the fall! I am way past ready.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      September 10, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      • It’s so cool at night here it’s awesome!!! Makes me want to go get a pumpkin and put it on my counter haha I love this time of year!!

        hopefuladdict

        September 10, 2012 at 11:43 pm

  5. I want this now. I love soup! (And I’m so impressed that you grew all this!) I’m still waiting for that “ooh, it feels like autumn moment” – it’s still just too hot here to even pretend! But as soon as it does, I am straight back into soup, I love it, but always end up cooking it just for me too – too many veggies for Cesar! – I reckon we’re onto a winner with that though, means we don’t have to share! And your lazy late breakfast, complete with not only bacon, but also wordsearches sounds like a pretty perfect morning!

    thepinkrachael

    September 10, 2012 at 4:37 pm

  6. I have a garden full of tomatoes and a bed full of basil – I WILL be making this!

    Real Life Farm Wife

    September 10, 2012 at 8:21 pm

  7. Reblogged this on Real Life Farm Wife and commented:
    I had planned to make fresh pesto today and write about it, but with our insanely crazy weekend (including a wedding and two out-of-town trips), I completely forgot I was out of Parmesan cheese.

    Guess the pesto will have to wait a few days…but this Roasted Tomato Basil Soup will be in my tummy tomorrow!

    Real Life Farm Wife

    September 10, 2012 at 8:23 pm

  8. This looks wonderful — how is it that all of your boys don’t do soup? I don’t think I’d be able to feed my crew without soup! And we are enjoying this amazing weather too- windows open and all.

    Liz

    September 10, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    • Thanks!
      I do not understand their aversion to soup. I’m telling you: they are crazy. Because they’ll eat chili. And stew. And soup-like things that come from the crock pot. And sometimes ramen noodles. But they won’t eat just straight up soup.
      The weather is AWESOME. I hope it lasts a good long while!!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      September 10, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      • Too funny! I will sometimes get grief for things like chili, and stew :), but they all like soup — even my daughter a.k.a., The Picky Eater! She especially likes ones that feature the immersion blender – smooth and silky textures really appeal to her.

        Fingers crossed for many weeks of beautiful weather.

        Liz

        September 10, 2012 at 9:43 pm

  9. I’ve been looking for a recipe for this soup. Thanks!

    thoughtsappear

    September 12, 2012 at 2:37 pm

  10. […] in a rut. I mean, I think we all know I have breakfast down pat. Lunch is no problem… I just eat soup because no one else will and I LIKE IT. I have no problem at all feeling creative with desserts or […]


I Really Like Comments.

